ngheim, unlike you, I can;t just check a race box to get into college.

I still vividly remember this moment. It was one of the most maddening and motivating comments I heard from a peer as I earned my family’s first-ever college acceptance.

It was maddening because it completely disregarded my hard work, my merit, and my achievements.

It also deliberately discounted the steep hill I climbed to overcome, as a student on full financial aid scholarship. Every year, I spent HOURS negotiating my financial aid with the business office, I spent HOURS filling out my parents' FAFSA applications, combing through their finances, worried I couldn't make enough money in my three jobs over the summer to cover my tuition gap.

That person’s comments were also incredibly motivating. Since then, I have made it my life’s work to create more access and open more doors for first-generation students like me to affordable higher education, and life-changing career opportunities.

As an organization, nothing about our work changes as a result of the Supreme Court's recent decision.

Our students and families have and will continue to overcome challenges and show resilience in the face of adversity. Next Generation Scholars will continue to provide personalized academic counseling, robust experiential learning opportunities, and customized support to and through college.

I am so proud of the community we have built, that we continue to grow, and who our students are becoming....

FIRST-GENERATION, COLLEGE-BOUND, GRADUATES AND LEADERS.

Nghiem
Executive Director