Advertisement

Ian Machado Garry: 'You're full of sh*t' if you scored UFC 303 fight vs. Michael Page a draw

Ian Machado Garry thinks it’s pretty clear he beat Michael Page at UFC 303.

Garry (15-0 MMA, 8-0 UFC) picked up a unanimous decision win over Page (22-3 MMA, 1-1 UFC) this past Saturday at T-Mobile Arena in Las Vegas, winning Rounds 1 and 3 on all three judges’ scorecards.

Garry almost cinched in a rear-naked choke in Round 1, but Page was able to rally in Round 2 and land the more significant strikes. Round 3 was close, with Page controlling the start, and Garry regaining momentum to close out the fight strong.

“Livid – absolutely livid,” Garry said about his performance on The MMA Hour. “It should have been done in the first round. There should have never been a second, there should have never been a third. It should have been, ‘Ian Machado Garry takes his back and subs him unconscious.’

“That’s what it should have been. I’ve already lost sleep over that and I just have this burning sensation in my brain that is just – it’s the competitor in me. It’s the perfectionist in me that goes, ‘Tthat was where the fight should have been done and dusted.'”

UFC CEO Dana White scored the fight a draw, but Garry heavily disagrees with anyone who says that he didn’t win the fight.

“You’re full of sh*t,” Garry said. “You need to go back and watch the fight. First round was mine. Here’s the thing: There is more of a case to say that I won all three rounds than than there is to say it was a draw. That’s the way I look at it. First round, dominated. No one in the world is arguing that. Third round, it’s pretty obvious I won.

“I ended up on bottom somehow. It was just a weird exchange of punches, ended up on bottom, I used elbows from the bottom, in tight, dirty. I had the damage when I was off my back. I went, ‘OK, I’m going to stand up.’ Then I ended up taking him down, getting his back, and dusting him up a little bit. It wasn’t a massive amount of damage, but there was absolutely nothing from ‘MVP.'”

For more on the card, visit MMA Junkie’s event hub for UFC 303.

Be sure to visit the MMA Junkie Instagram page and YouTube channel to discuss this and more content with fans of mixed martial arts.

More UFC