Advertisement

Report: Ryan Garcia arrested for felony vandalism at Waldorf Astoria in Beverly Hills

Ryan Garcia continues to court controversy and trouble after he reportedly was arrested in Beverly Hills.

The 25-year-old boxer was taken into custody for felony vandalism at the famed Waldorf Astoria Hotel in the ritzy Los Angeles suburb, TMZ reported Saturday. The site posted video of Garcia being led away in handcuffs, allegedly for damaging hotel property in his room and a hallway and reported Garcia appeared to be under the influence.

The cops also were called to the hotel earlier in the week to perform a welfare check on Garcia, who reportedly then was cut off later in the day from being served alcohol at hotel bars.

Garcia drew headlines going into his fight against Devin Haney and had people questioning his mental health. His upset of Haney steered that conversation elsewhere temporarily, even after Garcia admitted post-fight he drank every night leading up to the fight.

But then things really took a turn when Garcia tested positive for Ostarine. His “B” sample tested positive, as well. His legal team has asserted he’s without fault.

A date for a hearing for Garcia with the New York State Athletic Commission has not been announced. He faces a suspension, fines and the overturning of his win. Haney was unbeaten entering the fight.

But now he also may face some legal issues in California.

After his win over Haney, he talked about his personal problems.

“I don’t give a f*ck what people say about me,” Garcia said. “… I drank every single night. Went out on the first Monday and Tuesday (of fight week), and drank, drank, drank. What happened? I won. I’m not necessarily proud of it, but I’m just saying. It was a statement to say you guys can’t really f*ck with me. I can do whatever I want. … I drank every day and did whatever I wanted. I’m not proud of it at all. I just pray for my kids, and hopefully, they are OK. I hope I made them proud.”

Be sure to visit the MMA Junkie Instagram page and YouTube channel to discuss this and more content with fans of mixed martial arts.

More Boxing