Aquadettes!

Dear M.,

I’ve been working on a novel for a few years. It is very much about this:

It’s an embarrassing thing, to admit the attempt of a novel. But that’s not the point. I wanted you to see this film because it is really lovely. And it’s a surprise window into what I’m writing about, something that is finding the pockets I have been feeling for. Something that is keeping my fingers crossed.

Yours,

CF

Film via @Brainpicker

4 Responses to Aquadettes!

  1. sandy says:

    Just swell. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Rachel says:

    When you’re ready fir readers I hope I’m first on the list!

  3. Millicent says:

    Wow. CF. One small reaction: the sequence of poses struck me as strange, and I wondered why. I think it’s because each swimmer had all the affect and performative energy it takes to strike a pose, with very little of the self-conscious artifice a camera invites.

    I can’t believe how much it all shares a world with your project. It’s a splendid island.

Leave a comment