Quick Note

I finally just finished my grading that I was supposedly doing earlier in the week.  One of my students wrote a fascinating essay on friendship.  She argued that if people took her for granted as a friend, that was fine, because her goal was to be the best friend possible (this was after years of treating friends as disposables, or as she says “like fashion trends”), and that she especially felt this way because people have intensely different perceptions of the world.  She felt that she had no way of knowing what they were actually thinking or feeling, so as long as she was doing her part, so be it. This was half astounding revelation to me, and half “wait, aren’t you on the verge of doormat-ism.” Perhaps, nine foot tall doormat-ism.  Is she brilliant, setting herself up for heartbreak, or a buddha?

Besties,

CF

Leave a comment