Scott Mills and Sam Vaughan smiling
Congratulations are in order (Picture: Scott Mills/Instagram)

Scott Mills and Sam Vaughan tied the knot this weekend in a star-studded ceremony in Spain.

The couple, who have been engaged for three years, said ‘I do’ on Saturday, June 1 in Xalet Del Nin surrounded by their nearest and dearest, including Rylan ClarkCalvin HarrisVick HopeZoe Ball and Chris Stark.

Eurovision icon Sam Ryder and DJ Joel Corry both performed at the event, which Scott described as ‘incredible’ in a social media post.

He wrote: ‘We both had the most incredible day. To celebrate with all our close friends and family in Spain was so special. We are looking forward to spending the rest of our lives together.’

It’s been a whirlwind romance for the couple, who met almost 10 years ago before moving in together during the Covid lockdown. As Scott and Sam marry, we take a look at where it all began.

When did Scott Mills and Sam Vaughan begin dating?

Scott and Sam met in 2016 at a radio event in Wales and began dating a year later.

Scott Mills and Sam Caughan smiling with their arms around each other
Scott and Sam met in 2016 (Picture: Mike Marsland/Getty Images for Orion Books)
Scott Mills and Sam Vaughan sitting at a table looking at each other and laughing
Their relationship got off to a bumpy start (Picture: Sam Vaughan/Instagram)
Scott Mills and Sam Vaughan posing for a photo with their arms around each other and smiling
They began dating in 2017 before moving in together three years later (Picture: Scott Mills/Instagram)

It was love at first sight for Scott, but he admitted that Sam wasn’t ‘ready’ to take the leap.

He told The Times: ‘The more time we spent together, the more I could see we were right for each other. I just needed him to see that too.’

‘So when we had the conversation about taking it forward and he said “I’m not ready”, I was devastated. Being friends with someone you’re in love with doesn’t work. We didn’t speak for six months.’

Luckily for the couple, it worked out, with them moving in together in 2020 and welcoming their adorable Cavapoo, Teddy, to the family.

The couple got engaged in October 2021, posting heartfelt Instagram messages to share the happy news with fans.

Scott Mills and Sam Vaughan embracing with photos of themselves hanging from a ceiling
They announced their engagement in 2021 (Picture: Sam Vaughan /Instagram)

‘After 4 years together I’m delighted to say we got engaged at the weekend. As Sam knows, I always said I didn’t think I would ever get married. But then I met you Sam.

‘You make me laugh every single day, you support me in so many ways and I adore everything about you. As soon as I met you I knew this could be something special and it is (after a slow start),’ Scott wrote.

‘We’ve had some amazing times, and I’m bursting with happiness to know we will have so many more. I love you with all my heart.’

Sam penned a similarly touching post, adding: ‘The beginning of forever. On Saturday the love of my life asked me to marry him and of course I said yes! I’ve had the most amazing four years and can’t wait to continue our journey!

‘I never thought I’d find somebody who’s as obsessed with Sky News as me and I can’t wait to call him my husband!’

Following their nuptials, Sam and Scott are rumoured to be pairing up for Celebrity Race Across The World where they will attempt to journey from Africa to the Arctic across 24 countries. without a mobile phone and a limited budget.

Got a story?

If you’ve got a celebrity story, video or pictures get in touch with the Metro.co.uk entertainment team by emailing us celebtips@metro.co.uk, calling 020 3615 2145 or by visiting our Submit Stuff page – we’d love to hear from you.

MORE : Rupert Murdoch, 93, marries for the fifth time to bride Elena Zhukova 26 years his junior

MORE : The day after I got married, I went on holiday with my mates

MORE : Like Rupert Murdoch, my fiancé wants his ex at our wedding