Advertisement

An emotional Damon Harrison contemplates retirement after difficult season

It’s been a difficult season for the Detroit Lions and when nose tackle Damon Harrison, overcome with emotion, addressed the media after the season finale he discussed why he was considering a possible retirement from the game.

“My mind state is telling me I can do it, but my body is just not there.”

Harrison has always been open with the media, never hiding from his emotions or point of view, and this situation was no different.

An offer for Lions fans

For the best local Detroit news, sports, entertainment and culture coverage, subscribe to the Detroit Free Press.

“I mean at this point, everything is on the table,” Harrison said. “Obviously, it wasn’t the type of year that I am used to having and that I wanted to have. It’s been tough. I’ve dealt with some injuries all year, so. I wasn’t ever able to get back to the form that I am used to. I have too much pride, man. I have been doing this too long. So if I can’t be the player that I am used to being I think my teammates deserve better, my family deserves better. I never cheated the game a day in my life.”

A quick glance at Harrison’s article archive at Lions Wire tells you all you need to know about what his body went through over the 2019 season. After missing most of training camp and the preseason with injuries, Harrison’s body never fully bounced back. He was on every injury report — often listed with three injuries — dating back to Week 8, often requiring a rest day in order to allow his body to recover.

The Lions took a similar rest and rehab approach last season with T.J. Lang in what we now know was his final season. When videos of Harrison’s emotional locker room talk were released online, Lang acknowledged that he “was in the same spot a year ago“.

Harrison made it clear, nothing is settled at this point and he needed time to step back and make the best decision.

I have to talk it over with my family,” Harrison said, “try to see some different options. But if I do walk away, I am not ashamed. I don’t feel bad because I gave it everything I had, even when it wasn’t good enough.”

Harrison’s efforts have been recognized by the Lions and coach Matt Patricia addressed that during his post-game press conference.

“I give him a lot of credit,” Patricia said. “He came out every single week and tried to do everything he could to help us and battling through all that stuff and show up on Sundays and try to be the anchor in the middle of our defense. So just appreciated his efforts to do that every single week and how hard he worked to do that. It’s a violent game, especially in the middle. He’s in there every single week trying to slug it out, so appreciated that a lot.”

If Harrison walks away from the game, the Lions would still owe him the remaining guaranteed money on his contract, but would also gain roughly $6.75 million in salary cap space.

Read all the best Lions coverage at the Detroit Free Press and Lions Wire.

More Lions News