Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mattyd1234

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 8, 2024
Hello everyone!

After about 10 years away Im looking to get myself an Apple Mac (macMini M2PRO)

Long story short - Im a wedding photographer who is using an old (yet strangely kinda current) Windows PC and Lightroom is just awful. And as such Im looking to get back into macs with a purchase of a MacMini.

To confuse things further, Im also a 3d artist who uses PCs, and I will continue to use my PC for this

At the moment my current set up is a simple Logitec Bluetooth Keyboard, a USB wired mouse, and 3 monitors - all quite modern ones all use HDMI or DVI as a connector.

Now what I want todo is to use those monitors/mouse etc on my PC as well as my mac, and I'd like to (ideally) swap between computers quickly and easily.

back in the day I know you used to be able to buy little switch boxes for monitors, but im curious to know if those things are still a thing, and if they are do mac minis play nicely with them??

thanks all!

Bigwaff

Contributor
Sep 20, 2013
At the moment my current set up is a simple Logitec Bluetooth Keyboard, a USB wired mouse, and 3 monitors - all quite modern ones all use HDMI or DVI as a connector.

Now what I want todo is to use those monitors/mouse etc on my PC as well as my mac, and I'd like to (ideally) swap between computers quickly and easily.
What are the current specs of your PC and monitors?

Reactions: mattyd1234

mattyd1234

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 8, 2024
I have 2 x BenQ sw2700pt - DVI-DL/ HDMI 1.4/ DP1.2

and a Huion Kamvas Pro 16 which uses HDMI for its input (that's the only option with that one)

Windows 10, with an RTX 4060 (looks to have 3 DisplayPort and 1 HDMI)

Last edited:

Fishrrman

macrumors Penryn
Feb 20, 2009
BE AWARE that there will be m4pro Minis coming not that far away.