Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

AVBeatMan

macrumors 603
Original poster
Nov 10, 2010
I have recently set the 80% limit for my battery on my iPhone 15 Pro Max, Watch Ultra and my M4 iPad Pro. I have never done this before and although I can still last the day, it takes a bit of getting used to, to not see 100% charged in the morning.

Do you use the 80% limit or not? Do you think it’s worth it?

Reactions: hovscorpion12

Abazigal

Contributor
Jul 18, 2011
Singapore
I have recently set the 80% limit for my battery on my iPhone 15 Pro Max, Watch Ultra and my M4 iPad Pro. I have never done this before and although I can still last the day, it takes a bit of getting used to, to not see 100% charged in the morning.

I use this on my iPad, but I typically find myself having to charge it at least once in the afternoon. I guess right now, it’s too early to tell whether this will be worth it (since the benefits are very long term), and I will never really know how much battery health it actually ends up preserving.

beach bum

macrumors demi-goddess
Oct 6, 2011
Philly
I’ve never bothered to set the 80% limit. I charge when the battery gets too low. With the M4 and during the work week, I maybe charge the IPP every 2-3 days to 100% and on the weekends once a day.

Reactions: AVBeatMan

rui no onna

Contributor
Oct 25, 2013

I leave my M1 12.9” plugged in for 24 hours daily during the work week so I’d appreciate having this feature. Right now I’m using a HomeKit Smart Plug + iOS Shortcuts so its stays between 70-80%.

I would never use it on my iPad mini though. I just use that one too much that an 80% limit would be too limiting (no pun intended).

dominiongamma

macrumors 68020
Oct 19, 2014
Phoenix. AZ
Is it for my iPhone and I still have 100% battery capacity which is excellent still, this feature has definitely helped preserve my battery. Will use it for MacOS

Reactions: ViP3l2

sk1985