By Carlos Leon

My time in public office is coming to an end after nearly 12 years of serving as your Precinct 1 county commissioner and over 30 years in the El Paso Police Department. Being your commissioner has been the honor of a lifetime, and serving my community has been the highlight. 

Carlos Leon

Over the course of my tenure, I have seen how our county government has helped our community to flourish. From day one until now, improvements have been set into motion that folks in El Paso County are now able to enjoy with their friends and family.

The best parts of being your commissioner were never the moments on the front page on our local papers. They were the ones you don’t hear about, when people walked into my office and we were able to help them with any issue they had. It didn’t matter if they were from Precinct 1, my staff and I always helped in any way we could to make their lives easier. 

When I brought Jackie Arroyo Butler into my office, I wanted to make sure I was bringing in someone to learn how to properly help Precinct 1 and who valued helping people as much as I do. In my eyes, the perfect fit in our office would also want to help make our neighborhoods more secure and help address medical accessibility issues to residents who want it.

Our precinct deserves someone who isn’t looking for a title or for recognition. We need someone who wants to help the public, even if it means voting for the unpopular option because it’s the right option for our area in the long run. We need to continuously improve while also knowing how to finance these decisions, and Jackie is the only candidate running who has both the experience and qualities necessary to make a good commissioner.

I didn’t expect to serve my third term in office, but the potential list of candidates the last time I was up for re-election were people who I didn’t feel comfortable leaving office to represent me and the area I hold dear. I didn’t want to bring in someone who would use this as a launching pad for higher offices and leave us, and Jackie has consistently shown to me that she is here to help improve our area and make Precinct 1 a better place.

The next commissioner must be able to advocate for things that benefit our area in an effective way. Already in my office, Jackie has found obscure laws and done vast amounts of research to advocate for those who need it most. I’ve been blown away with what she has accomplished and by what she can do in the time she has spent working with me. 

Jackie is a well-rounded, experienced candidate who will listen to you about any and every concern you have about issues in your neighborhood. 

After growing up in Montana Vista, she came back home upon graduating from Vassar College and has raised her family and furthered her education and career while back here in El Paso. Her experience working for the Chamber of Commerce, the Medical Center of the Americas, and on different boards across the area has given her a slew of qualifications for this position that others just don’t have – including the ability to speak in Spanish.

She is the only choice to replace me as your next county commissioner, especially when you consider the other Democratic candidate only has experience in one finite area when compared to her extensive experience and education.

Jackie understands El Paso culture and the needs of our community. She is going to stay in Precinct 1 and work to make it – and our whole county – the best it can be. 

I’m impressed with her and everything she has done for my office and Precinct 1 already. El Paso County and Precinct 1 would be lucky to have her as their next county commissioner. That’s why I’m voting for Jackie and asking you to join me in the upcoming March 5 election.

Carlos Leon is El Paso County commissioner for Precinct 1.