Skip to main content
9 events
when toggle format what by license comment
Jul 5 at 15:33 comment added Marco For future readers and myself, I found some great resources talking about the topic here and here.
Jul 5 at 14:54 comment added Marco Alright, thank you so much! That really means a lot me.
Jul 5 at 14:53 comment added Dave Tweed Yes, that's the general idea.
Jul 5 at 14:46 comment added Marco So assuming the coax has a capacitance of ~30 pF (~30cm) and the input capacitance of the scope is 13pF that would make 43 pF I need to compensate for, right? Multiplying that by 1/9 gives 4.7pF, so about 5pF, would that be an appropriate value in this case? I'm sorry, I'm trying to figure this out by myself but it's not easy. Thank you!
Jul 5 at 14:39 comment added Dave Tweed You also need to add the capacitance of your length of coax, which, as Spehro said, will be on the order of 100 pF. Your compensating capacitor needs to be 1/9 of whatever that sum is, which is why it's usually an adjustable capacitor. But a fixed value somewhere in the range of 10 to 15 pF probably wouldn't be too far off the mark.
Jul 5 at 14:34 comment added Marco I see. How would I go about choosing/calculating the capacitor value? My assumption is that I'll probably have to match it with the oscilloscope's input capacitance? The scope I'm intending to make the measurements with has a described input capacitance of 13pF. If you could help me with that I'd be very happy.
Jul 5 at 14:26 comment added Dave Tweed Well, it's the first point that I made, but in the second and fourth paragraphs.
Jul 5 at 14:20 comment added Marco Thanks for elaborating. If I understand correctly, the second point is talking about putting a 9 MΩ parallel to a capacitor in series with the test point connection and using the scope with 1 MΩ input impedance?
Jul 5 at 11:40 history answered Dave Tweed CC BY-SA 4.0