Skip to main content
Tweeted twitter.com/StackElectronix/status/958565055087497216
added 116 characters in body
Source Link
Chaos
  • 163
  • 5

I had a component in a sizable power supply open up, but I haven't had any luck identifying it. The PCB is marked with this symbol under the component: (two terminals, one on on each side)

unknown component

I never saw this thing before it failed, but it looked exactly like a failed MOV after it failed (burnt up gray disk with leads flat on each side).

However, the component is wired in series with the AC line input, on the opposite AC line from a fuse. I've never seen any varistor used like this.

The power supply does not work with this component open, but I tried jumping across the two leads, and the power supply came right up, so it was clearly carrying current before.

So what is this?

Edit: Here is how it appears in the circuit:

schematic

I had a component in a sizable power supply open up, but I haven't had any luck identifying it. The PCB is marked with this symbol under the component: (two terminals, one on on each side)

unknown component

I never saw this thing before it failed, but it looked exactly like a failed MOV after it failed (burnt up gray disk with leads flat on each side).

However, the component is wired in series with the AC line input, on the opposite AC line from a fuse. I've never seen any varistor used like this.

The power supply does not work with this component open, but I tried jumping across the two leads, and the power supply came right up, so it was clearly carrying current before.

So what is this?

I had a component in a sizable power supply open up, but I haven't had any luck identifying it. The PCB is marked with this symbol under the component: (two terminals, one on on each side)

unknown component

I never saw this thing before it failed, but it looked exactly like a failed MOV after it failed (burnt up gray disk with leads flat on each side).

However, the component is wired in series with the AC line input, on the opposite AC line from a fuse. I've never seen any varistor used like this.

The power supply does not work with this component open, but I tried jumping across the two leads, and the power supply came right up, so it was clearly carrying current before.

So what is this?

Edit: Here is how it appears in the circuit:

schematic

Source Link
Chaos
  • 163
  • 5

Help Identifying a Component in a Power Supply

I had a component in a sizable power supply open up, but I haven't had any luck identifying it. The PCB is marked with this symbol under the component: (two terminals, one on on each side)

unknown component

I never saw this thing before it failed, but it looked exactly like a failed MOV after it failed (burnt up gray disk with leads flat on each side).

However, the component is wired in series with the AC line input, on the opposite AC line from a fuse. I've never seen any varistor used like this.

The power supply does not work with this component open, but I tried jumping across the two leads, and the power supply came right up, so it was clearly carrying current before.

So what is this?