‘Today’s Jenna Bush Hager Admits She Had “Zero Friends” In Her First Year At Summer Camp: “I Was An Odd Child”

Where to Stream:

Today with Hoda & Jenna

Powered by Reelgood

Jenna Bush Hager took a walk down memory lane during Monday’s broadcast of Today With Hoda & Jenna where she told Hoda Kotb about the “rough” time she had at summer camp as a child.

The Today host explained to Kotb that her kids recently left for the same summer camp she attended growing up. After she mentioned that she was holding back “little tears” during their goodbyes, Kotb asked if her parents were just as emotional as she was during her first year at summer camp.

“No,” Bush Hager replied flatly. “They high-fived each other because both [my sister and I] were gone.”

She added, “I even wrote them letters like, ‘Dear mom and dad, here are my friends.’ And then I wrote all the people in my cabin. And then the next letter, ‘Dear mom and dad, that last letter was a lie, I have zero friends.”

The confession made Kotb laugh as she asked, “Did you asked to be picked up and brought back home?”

Bush Hager replied, “No, because they would never have done that. But I prayed for it and then nobody came.”

She later added that she eventually grew to “love” summer camp. “My first year was just rough because I was an odd child,” she told Kotb.

Hoda Kotb Jenna Bush Hager on 'Today With hoda & Jenna'
Photo: NBC

It certainly sounds like Bush Hager had a rough time at camp. She once revealed on the show that the other campers locked her out of the cabin while she was naked.

“I think I was a little bit of an exhibitionist as a child. Actually, my first year at Camp Longhorn, which I have to bring up every couple of weeks just to feel centered, I got locked out of the cabin naked in front of the boys,” she said. “My first year, I didn’t have that many friends.”

When Kotb asked what she did after she got locked out, Bush Hager said she decided to own it. “I think I was probably just like, ‘Hey, boys!’ I sort of feel like, take it or leave it, you know?” she said.

She’s quite the open book. In another episode of Today, she admitted that she didn’t used to feel like she was “boy material” when she was younger, as she told Kotb, “Boys weren’t into me.”

Today with Hoda and Jenna airs weekdays at 10/9c on NBC.