Bill Maher Calls For Biden To Withdraw From Presidential Race: “He Is Going To Lose, It’s So Apparent”

Where to Stream:

Real Time With Bill Maher

Powered by Reelgood

As expected, the topic of this week’s CNN debate between Donald Trump and Joe Biden was at the center of last night’s episode of Real Time, with host Bill Maher calling for Biden to withdraw from the presidential race following a disastrous performance.

Maher doubled down on his opinion of whether or not Biden should run for reelection.

“I have said before, I will vote for his head in a jar of blue liquid. After last night, time to get the jar,” Maher quipped during his panel discussion.

He reminded his audience that he has been saying this for months, but now it is “absolutely apparent” that Biden is going to lose and should be replaced on the Democratic ticket as it’s the “only way” for Democrats to win the election.

“The flash poll after, Trump, they said, won 67 to 33,” said Maher. “33, that number rings in my mind. Because you know what that number is? That’s the number you always see very close- 33, 34, 32 of the people who are just always with their party. I mean, this is Mrs. Goebbels in the bunker number… You see it on the right. They used to call them birthers, Tea Party, whatever MAGA nation, they never move. And now I feel like that’s a third of the Democrats who are, like, they’re gonna stick with this guy and they are going to regret it.”

“He is going to lose. I said it nine months ago. I’m gonna say it again tonight. And now, it seems like it’s so apparent,” Maher continued.

The HBO host then queued up a clip from the debate where Biden said that his administration “finally beat Medicare.”

“It reminded me of when Mike Tyson used to knock guys out in 90 seconds. Like that was like two minutes into the debate and I went like ‘Oh, this election is over.’ That was like a haymaker,” Maher said.

“I feel like the whole rationale for Biden running has always been ‘I’m the only guy who can beat him.’ Now I think it’s inverted. I think he’s the only guy who could lose to him,” he continued. “I keep hearing all day from these Democrats defending this. Like, ‘we can’t abandon Joe Biden.’ What about me? I feel abandoned. I feel abandoned. I have nobody to vote for.”

Among several top Democrats who still support Biden after the debate include former President Barack Obama, who released a statement on Friday.

“Bad debate nights happen. Trust me, I know,” said Obama. “But this election is still a choice between someone who has fought for ordinary folks his entire life and someone who only cares about himself. Between someone who tells the truth; who knows right from wrong and will give it to the American people straight — and someone who lies through his teeth for his own benefit. Last night didn’t change that, and it’s why so much is at stake in November.”

The New York Times editorial board and other liberal media outlets, however, have begun to call for Biden’s withdrawal from the presidential race.

“Mr. Biden has been an admirable president. Under his leadership, the nation has prospered and begun to address a range of long-term challenges, and the wounds ripped open by Mr. Trump have begun to heal. But the greatest public service Mr. Biden can now perform is to announce that he will not continue to run for re-election,” wrote the Times editorial board on Friday.

You can watch a clip of Maher’s opening monologue above and catch new episodes of Real Time with Bill Maher on Fridays at 10 p.m. ET on HBO or streaming on Max.