‘Dark Matter’s Joel Edgerton on the “Interesting Challenge” of Playing Multiple Jasons: “I Felt Like I Needed a PhD in Something That Didn’t Exist to Get it Done Properly”

Where to Stream:

Dark Matter (2024)

Powered by Reelgood

Joel Edgerton’s mom isn’t afraid to ask her son what the heck is happening in his mind-bending Apple TV+ series, Dark Matter. Neither is his mother-in-law. And crucially, neither is Decider.

In honor of Dark Matter‘s intense Season 1 finale, which premiered on Apple TV+ Wednesday, June 26, the newly 50-year-old actor hopped on a Zoom call from Europe one day after his birthday to discuss the thrilling sci-fi series, adapted from Blake Crouch’s popular sci-fi novel.

Edgerton was such a huge fan of Crouch’s book that he sought out involvement in the series and not only landed the demanding gig, but served as an executive producer. Before diving into Episode 9, which finds him playing hundreds of Jason Dessens as a result of some classic multiverse madness, Edgerton took a moment to whip out his cell phone and read his supportive mom’s latest text message aloud: “Watched Episode 4 and 5 of Dark Matter. It is so complicated. But when you walked through the snow, how did that happen? And how did you do the underwater scene? Scary.” Same, Joel Edgerton’s mom. Same.

After a hearty chuckle, Edgerton revealed that his family’s confusion helped him realize Dark Matter‘s incredibly complex storyline “forces people to really focus on what’s happening.” Over its nine episodes, the series explores life’s regrets, what ifs, and the road not taken. And looking back on his experience, Edgerton is “thrilled” that every decision in his life led him to Dark Matter.

In celebration of Dark Matter‘s Season 1 finale (and of course, Edgerton’s birthday!) read on to hear the actor dish on playing hundreds of Jasons, working with co-stars Jennifer Connelly and Alice Braga, his thoughts on a potential Dark Matter Season 2, and more.

DECIDER: It’s so nice to see only one of you. I asked to get all the Joels on the phone, but you were the only one available. 

JOEL EDGERTON: [Laughs] I actually had this thought the other day. I get a bit busy sometimes and a bit overwhelmed by all the things that I want to do, and people I get back to. I’m like, I should call Apple and borrow a few other versions of myself and then I could get it all done. 

You primarily played two major versions of Jason. But what was it like taking it to the next level and unlocking even more personalities of that same character towards the end? 

On one hand it was a real exciting challenge, and as we got to the last couple of episodes it reminded me of part of the reason why I signed on to do it in the first place was not for ego reasons, but wanting to be in the show as much as humanly and scientifically possible to explore the different points of view of the same human being under different pressures and different circumstances. For the most part, I play two versions of the same man with very subtle differences coming at life and experience from slightly different — or in some ways majorly different — ways. But with the final couple of episodes, you actually see characters really fighting for what they want and having been put through all sorts of other trauma as a result of the whole situation. Therefore, the Jasons that we meet become more scheming or more violent or more willing to act out of desperation. And I found that quite an interesting challenge — having to constantly remind myself that they are all of the same foundation and not to go too far into it.

Joel Edgerton, Joel Edgerton, and Joel Edgerton in 'Dark Matter'
Photo: Apple TV+

I frequently found myself thinking that continuity-wise, wardrobe and makeup-wise, and of course, performance-wise this show was so ambitious and exhausting, but I imagine an actor’s dream. Do you have a favorite Jason vs. Jason scene?

So, work — I’m not a big action guy. I’ve done movies that have physical elements to them and I always really, really, love that aspect of working, when you get to do something challenging on a physical level. And the psychology of two Jasons talking to each other in a bar, that was very interesting. But also what I found equally as interesting: having to do physical fight scenes with myself. I have to really understand the agenda of each side of the fight and then work out the mechanics of it with a stunt person and teach them how I might do one side of the fight, so that we could do one angle of it and switch roles. So learning two sides of a fight was another one of the labyrinth challenges for the show, but fun. I felt like I needed some sort of PhD in something that didn’t exist to get it done properly. [Laughs] But outside of that it was a reminder of how excellent film crews are and the support crew — in this case, stunt teams, and doubles, and acting doubles that were there to support me and make the job easier so I wasn’t working in a vacuum by myself.

Blake Crouch called those final two episodes some of the “coolest viewing experiences” he’s ever had. What has it been like for you and your loved ones watching final cuts and seeing all the Jasons? 

[Laughs] Blake’s causing me to have to deal with all the confusion of my family and extended family. They’re like, “I’m confused what’s going on here.” My mom’s latest text message to me: “Watched Episode 4 and 5 of Dark Matter. It is so complicated. But when you walked through the snow, how did that happen? And how did you do the underwater scene? Scary.” [Laughs] My mother-in-law watches it. She’s asking me all sorts of puzzling questions. And what I realized is that it forces people to really focus on what’s happening — the shifts between the different parallel realities — and keep track of things. Blake is super intelligent, obviously he’s built this incredible puzzle of a story and each one of us as human beings has a different capacity to understand things. So I think he’s done a nice job of holding the audience’s hand to a certain degree. I know for some people, they’re like, “I totally get it, I’m a little bit ahead of you.” Other people are left in the dust going, “Hold on, I need to catch up a little bit.” So most of my conversations with friends and family are asking to explain [something] to them, or they’re fascinated by how we made it happen. A lot of people are very excited by the world building and visual effects of it all. Some people are fascinated by the psychology. And still — I turned 50 yesterday…

Oh my gosh, happy birthday!

Thank you. Still I get people asking me the age-old question of actors: How did you remember all those lines? [Laughs] I don’t answer that question anymore. 

Joel Edgerton on 'Dark Matter'
Photo: Apple TV+

I respect that. In terms of the finale, something I really appreciated how Daniela got some real agency and was the one to hop into that chat room and makes the call. That, to me, felt like such a believable storyline because of the way Jennifer Connelly played that character with such strength. What was it like working so closely with her? 

She’s amazing. She really is. Good to be around behind the scenes. She’s a wonderful human being. And, obviously in front of the camera, just exquisite. Super intelligent. I think Blake was actually really appreciative of all the extra minds that came in and really asked him questions of the material that he’d already written in this wonderful novel. I brought my own point of view to the importance of family. Jacque, Blake’s partner in crime and partner in life, she, in the writer’s room asked some very pertinent questions about relationships and the abuse that takes place in taking over somebody else’s life. Even though we’re looking at it through the prism of a science fiction conceit, those questions need to be addressed. The question of corruption, being corrupted by the wrong person, and how you recover from that, and how family recovers from that — I think that the beauty of turning a book into a TV show is that everybody comes with an excitement to sign up. And Blake beautifully creates a space [and says] let’s ask all the questions we need to ask, because this is a complicated scenario filled with with characters that all need their own voice and own point of view.

Joel Edgerton and Jennifer Connelly in 'Dark Matter'
Photo: Apple TV+

I need you to know I was so scared of the Jason chat, because it didn’t feel that out of the realm of possibility in today’s society. Obviously not the sci-fi aspect, but a creepy message board? Yikes.

That was crazy, right? I kept thinking when you open up the Pandora’s box — pardon the pun — because we hope we live on one plane of existence, and all we have to contend with it are our own choices, the choices of people around us, how the environment and life kind of knocks us down or picks us up. To then imagine you add a multitude of choices to that and access it on a story level? You have to ask yourself a gazillion questions about what’s the most interesting way to focus in on what you want to say thematically and pick a series of lanes, in this case. That chat room thing is definitely surprising, yet inevitable, which I think is a sort of nexus of great storytellings. “I didn’t see that coming, but it makes sense.” If that was the weird world you had found yourself in, I don’t want to be in a chat room with myself. 

Though she’s not in the finale much Jason felt very deeply for Amanda, and I believe she had a larger role in the show than the book. Were you happy about that change and the chance to share those scenes with Alice Braga?

I was very lucky to go to work each day and know that for the most part I was sharing scenes with either one of these two incredible actresses — plus Jimmy and Dayo and everybody else. I just think Alice’s character evolves throughout the show as we learn more about her and her true feelings and her past and selfless approach to life. And the her steering her own ship and making bold personal choices, I just think her character evolves in a way and we really fall so in love or in interest of as a human. I really, really, really adored all my days working with her in that box and through all these weird green screen environments. I think she’s so truly great. So much so that I actually felt like it was such a fitting departure, but it felt sad, you know? It was like, “Oh, we’re in the last episode. Essentially we’re parting ways and you’re going to stay here.” It felt sad in front of and behind the camera. 

Joel Edgerton and Alice Braga in 'Dark Matter.'
Photo: Apple TV+

Speaking of goodbyes, Season 1 ends with the Dessens entering a new world, which I hope is the same utopia that Ryan and Amanda are in. It feels like there’s more story to tell, although there’s no official Season 2 renewal. Is that something that you and Blake would be open to? Have there been any discussions? 

I think everybody’s sort of open to it, for sure. I think everyone had a wonderful time. I know I did and I felt that from everyone around us. I think generally there’s a world right now talking about multiple universes. There’s a world of a multitude of television, which is a buffet that caters for all sorts of people’s tastes and the algorithms and all that stuff. I think that if there’s a world where people want more of Dark Matter and there was enough of an audience that was out there watching it and saw it through to the end, I think they’ll definitely do more. And if they do, I and the 50 other Jasons will be there ready. I want to get paid 50 times. [Laughs]

You deserve it! We need to talk about the final scene with all the Jasons outside the box. I can’t stop thinking about the world that they’re leaving behind. What happens to all the Jasons? Does that keep you up at night or just me? 

[Laughs] Yeah, I keep thinking about what they do at the end of that scene. Where do they go? What do they do? Do they have a big dinner together somewhere? I mean, there’s a whole show about the week after. I mean, it would break me in 50 pieces.

Yeah unfortunately I’m gonna need that spinoff. I want to see news reports of dead Jasons. The Jason takeover. The panic.

They could be playing some seriously great pranks on everybody in the neighborhood. They all looked at the house and just decided, “You know, I’ll go out today. You stay home” and keep popping up all over the place at random times. 

Joel Edgerton sitting across from Joel Edgerton in 'Dark Matter'
Photo: Apple TV+

I’ll watch it! You mentioned Dark Matter‘s incredible world-building earlier. Is there a world either as a viewer or an actor that sticks with you the most?

I love the buildings crumbling — the outcome of that. But the most exciting day on a physical level was the underwater stuff, because we were in a tank and we were actually doing it and having to get underwater and swim around and hold our breaths. That was cool. But the one with the falling buildings, the ash world, is a pretty spectacular. It’s funny, because as an actor, they’re going, “OK, so there’s going to be a building there falling down.” And you finally see it, and you’re like, “There’s a bunch of geniuses who I haven’t met that are all at their consoles, creating this stuff that I one day may meet and literally take my hat off to.”

The series also has such a sick soundtrack. Do you have a favorite music moment?

Oh, I love the Kid Cudi needle drop. They’re sort of weirdly random and outside the box, but if you listen, they have a point.

Any final words about the show or your experience before we wrap?

The show is everything that I was hoping it would be. As you set off on any project, you have hopes for what it might be and go into it with really good intentions, and it’s one of those jobs that met every one of my expectations and then some. I had a feeling that it was the way to dip my foot into a science-fiction world in order to say something more resonant about regular life, about longing and regrets, and gratitude for family, and gratitude for the life that we live. I was very impressed that they managed to keep the big scale there and the thrills and the excitement of that, but keep things incredibly personal and explore things that we really ask ourselves on a semi-regular basis and in our private thoughts. I think the show’s there for everyone to reach in and pull out their own stuff. In hindsight, I’m just so happy that I got to be part of it. And everything that Blake and that team set out to achieve, they did and were excellent partners. I’m thrilled with what it’s become. 

Dark Matter is now streaming on Apple TV+.