Whoopi Goldberg Tells ‘The View’ Why She Was So Honest About Taking A Weight Loss Drug: “You Know I Didn’t Go To The Gym” 

Where to Stream:

The View

Powered by Reelgood

After opening up about her experience using the weight loss drug Mounjaro on a March episode of The View, co-host Whoopi Goldberg explained why she was so candid about her experience with the medication.

While discussing The Washington Post‘s recent article about “weight loss etiquette” in the age of drugs like Mounjaro and Ozempic, Goldberg offered her own thoughts on how open people should be about using the weight loss drugs.

The Hot Topics table largely agreed that public figures should be truthful about using such drugs, but also noted that people have a right to privacy about what medications they’re taking.

When Goldberg chimed in, she reminded the audience, “Yes, I took Mounjaro. I’m not, you know— I did it, you know?”

She continued, “I say it all the time. Because you can’t go from close to 300 pounds without somebody saying, ‘OK, what happened?’ ‘Cause you know I didn’t go to the gym!”

When the audience and the panel began to laugh, Goldberg reiterated, “You know? People know that!”

Whoopi Goldberg on The View
Photo: ABC

Her remarks come shortly after Goldberg appeared on The Kelly Clarkson Show in May, where she told host Kelly Clarkson that she lost the weight of “almost two people” after taking Mounjaro.

Calling Mounjaro a “wonderful shot,” Goldberg told Clarkson that the medication had been “really good” for her, and explained that she reached her heaviest weight of 300 pounds prior to starting the drug.

Goldberg also told Clarkson that before starting Mounjaro, she had been mistakenly accused by an entertainment reporter of wearing a wearing a fat suit in the 2022 drama Till.

“I made a movie and a woman thought I was wearing a fat suit … I was indignant! I was like, this is not a fat suit, this is me! And then I saw me … I thought well, yeah, it does look like I’m wearing a fat suit,” Goldberg said.

The View airs weekdays at 11/10c on ABC.