‘RHONY’ Shocker: Former Star Kelly Bensimon Abruptly Cancels Her Wedding Just Four Days Before Ceremony

Where to Stream:

The Real Housewives of New York City

Powered by Reelgood

Real Housewives of New York City alum Kelly Bensimon abruptly canceled her wedding to financier Scott Litner just days before the ceremony was set to take place this weekend.

Bensimon confirmed the shocking news with a statement to Page Six.

“I have decided that my two daughters are my priority and I won’t be moving forward with this wedding,” she told the outlet. She asked for privacy.

The former Bravo star later revealed to Entertainment Tonight that she ultimately decided to cancel the ceremony because Litner refused to sign a prenuptial agreement.

“He thought that I would enter this union without legal protections in place, that I would leave everything to faith,” she said. “I’ve worked really, really hard as a single mother and have always made smart decisions for myself and my family, and that will continue.” 

Her rep stated that Bensimon is “disappointed” by the situation, but it became “clear” after he refused to sign a prenuptial agreement that she couldn’t proceed with the ceremony.

“It was a rough day for me,” she said. “But I could never start a life together under those circumstances. I wish him well.”

Scott Litner and Kelly Bensimon
Photo: Sylvain Gaboury/Patrick McMullan

In a statement to People, Bensimon clarified, “To be clear, he refused to sign a prenuptial agreement, and I refused to marry him. Full stop.”

The couple had two ceremonies planned for their nuptials, the first of which was set to take place at Litner’s mother’s home in Boston on June 29. A second, larger ceremony in the Hamptons was also planned for a later date.

The news comes as a shock considering Bensimon has been singing Litner’s praises since he popped the question last summer after a year of dating.

“He’s just a really genuine, nice, kind person,” she told People while planning their wedding. “He has a beautiful family, and is great with my girls, and is just a very grounded. You know, I’m a very grounded girl — I just have ungrounded tendencies. But I typically have my feet on the ground, and he does too. So we just get along really, really well.”

Bensimon recently returned to the Bravo-verse with an appearance on Real Housewives Ultimate Girls Trip: RHONY Legacy Season 4.

Prior to that, she was an early member of the Real Housewives of New York cast from Seasons 2 to 4.