‘Seinfeld’ Alum Julia Louis-Dreyfus Tells ‘Live’ About The Nurse Who Called Her “Elaine” When She Was Giving Birth To Her First Child: “Can You Believe That?”

Where to Stream:

Live with Kelly and Mark

Powered by Reelgood

Oh, baby! Fame sure flustered Julia Louis-Dreyfus at quite an inopportune time.

The Seinfeld alum was featured on Live with Kelly and Mark this morning, where she recounted being recognized for her Emmy award-winning role of Elaine Benes while at the hospital to give birth to her eldest son, Henry.

“I was in the hospital, and you know, I had that thing around [me]. You know, they put that thing around you —,” she began.

Co-host Kelly Ripa added, “That monitors the heartbeat.”

Louis-Dreyfus then recalled being in the bathroom when her water broke.

“I had the thing around me, and actually I was completely naked,” she continued. “I was standing there and I was standing in this pool. And this nurse walks in, and I go, ‘Oh my God, my water just broke!’ And she went, ‘Elaine!'”

As the audience erupted into laughter, she added, “Can you believe that?”

When Mark Consuelos asked what she had to say after that, Louis-Dreyfus replied, “Let’s just say, it registered with me.”

Julia Louis-Dreyfus laughing with Kelly and Mark on 'Live'
Photo: ABC

“30 years later, I’m still talking about it,” she quipped. “Because it was so off-putting in the moment. I was like, ‘My baby’s coming. My baby’s coming.'”

Ripa teased, “‘Will you call me by my hospital name, which is Julia. I’m under an assumed name here.'”

The hit NBC sitcom that ran from 1989 until 1998 remains a fan favorite, although the finale has been maligned by many. Jerry Seinfeld himself recently admitted that he’s “a little bit” bothered by how the show ended, but highlighted that he doesn’t “believe in regret.”

“I think it’s arrogant to think you could have done something different,” he told GQ. “You couldn’t. That’s why you did what you did.”

Live with Kelly and Mark airs on weekdays. Check out their website for your local listings