Kelly Ripa Starts Cleaning Her Pearly Whites On ‘Live’ After Mark Consuelos Says He Used To Avoid Telling Friends They Had Food In Their Teeth: “I Don’t Trust You Now”

Where to Stream:

Live with Kelly and Mark

Powered by Reelgood

The age-old dilemma of whether or not to let someone know if they have food in their teeth emerged on this morning’s Live with Kelly and Mark.

Kelly Ripa and Mark Consuelos discussed “getting around the hatred for raisins,” as Ripa teased that she has a “love-hate raisin relationship.”

“So I love raisins in the bran. I love raisins in an oatmeal raisin cookie,” she explained, before grimacing. “But yet, if you hand me a box of raisins…”

Consuelos said, “It bums me out. It takes me back to like — “

Ripa interjected, “Halloween! When your neighbor would give you a box of raisins.”

However, Consuelos clarified, “Like middle, like grade school, in your lunch thing. And it’s just like, I never really liked the raisins for lunch. It’s just sugar.”

Ripa lamented, “It seems disappointing. It doesn’t seem like sugar enough. Like, hand me a jelly bean.”

Consuelos then reminisced on some raisin antics of his childhood.

“You’d share with your buddy, and then he’d take some of your raisins and they’d be stuck in his teeth,” he shared. “And you’re staring at him wondering, ‘Do I tell him or do I just let it ride the whole rest of the day?’ I let it ride.”

Following this anecdote, Consuelos caught his wife and co-host subtly cleaning her teeth with her mouth shut.

Kelly Ripa and Mark Consuelos on 'Live with Kelly and Mark'
Photo: ABC

“You’re cleaning your teeth right now,” he said, to which she replied, “I know, because I don’t trust you now.”

After returning to the subject of raisins, Ripa conceded that she doesn’t “mind them in stuffing” or in other things.

While Consuelos claimed that “it’s a guy thing,” Ripa revealed, “I’ve done entire shows with food in my teeth, and I come backstage and I go, ‘Why didn’t you tell me?’ He’s like, ‘Oh, I didn’t notice.'”

“Bread pudding? Give me a raisin! I love a raisin in a bread pudding,” she shared. “Just don’t hand me a raisin and expect me to pretend it’s a cranberry.”

Live with Kelly and Mark airs on weekdays. Check out their website for your local listings.