Whoopi Goldberg’s Daughter Denies Being A Nepo Baby In Rare Appearance On ‘The View’: “I Have Yet To Experience That”

Where to Stream:

The View

Powered by Reelgood

Alex Martin wants everyone to know loud and clear that she is not a nepo baby — even though her mom is Whoopi Goldberg.

On this morning’s episode of The View, Goldberg invited her fellow Sister Act 2 co-stars to the studio to help celebrate the film’s 30th anniversary. Among the castmates present for the in-person festivities was Martin, who’s credited in the movie as a “classroom kid.”

Despite getting cast in a film led by her mother, Martin denied that nepotism played a role in the decision.

“I’ve heard you guys talk about this nepo baby stuff,” she told The View co-hosts. “I have yet to experience that, how about that? I auditioned like everybody else.”

She continued, “I’m glad [composer Mark Shaiman] wasn’t there because I don’t sound like them when I sing, but it was a very interesting experience and I realized that I’m not good at auditions. Other than that, though, I got the job.”

Martin was brought back into the conversation when her former co-star Frank Odell Howard revealed the one regret he had from filming with her that he wanted to clear up.

“About a month into the shoot, I guess Alex had one of the PAs pull all of the young actors to the side and she kind of felt uncomfortable with me,” he recalled. “She was like, ‘I don’t like how you look at me all the time.’”

Howard added, “At the time, I’m young — I’m like 19 at the time and I was really quiet. So the producer assistant, he asked me, he’s like, ‘Why do you stare at her? She feels uncomfortable.’ And I didn’t say anything, I was so shy. But what I really wanted to say was it’s because you’re pretty.”

'The View'
Photo: ABC

While Martin rarely appears on The View, her name does come up on occasion. In a December 2023 episode of the hit daytime talk show, Kenan Thompson revealed how Martin helped manifest his long-standing job on Saturday Night Live.

According to Thompson, his friends introduced him to Martin “back in the day” and they ended up being “very close for a while.”

“I remember when I got the call to audition, I happened to be hanging out over there,” he said. “I was nervous. And she was like, ‘What are you nervous about?’ I was like, ‘I got this SNL audition coming up, you know what I’m saying?’ She was like, ‘Go book that. Just go book it.’ And I was like, ‘You know? Yeah. I’m just gonna go take that job.'”

The View airs on weekdays at 11/10c on ABC.