Céline Dion Opens Up About Her Struggle To Continue Performing In New Prime Video Doc: “I Miss It So Much”

Where to Stream:

I Am: Celine Dion

Powered by Reelgood

In a first-look trailer of her new Prime Video documentary, Grammy Award-winning singer Céline Dion opens up about the rare neurological disorder that has left a devastating impact on her singing career.

The new trailer of I Am: Celine Dion shows the singer reflecting on her decades-long career as an R&B and pop icon after being diagnosed with stiff-person syndrome, a neurological disorder that impacts her ability to sing and move.

“I wasn’t ready to say anything before but I’m ready now,” she says in the heartbreaking trailer.

The Prime Video documentary gives an inside look at the singer’s life as she juggles her new diagnosis with her passion for performing, while continuing physical therapy, recording sessions, and rehearsals to continue her career. The devastating trailer is punctuated with the singer openly crying as she discusses the disorder for the very first time.

“I have to admit it’s been a struggle. I miss it so much. The people, I miss them. If I can’t walk, I’ll crawl. And I won’t stop. I won’t stop,” she says.

Dion announced that she was diagnosed with stiff-person syndrome in December 2022 when she was forced to postpone several European tour dates.

“While we’re still learning about this rare condition, we now know this is what’s been causing all of the spasms that I’ve been having,” she said in a video shared on social media at the time, per CNN. “Unfortunately, these spasms affect every aspect of my daily life, sometimes causing difficulties when I walk and not allowing me to use my vocal cords to sing the way I’m used to.”

Celine Dion
Photo: Amazon

According to the National Institute Of Neurological Disorders and Stroke, stiff-person syndrome is a “rare, progressive neurological disorder” that can cause stiff muslces in the torso, arms, and legs, as well as sensitivity to “noise, touch, and emotional distress, which can set off muscle spasms.”

People with this progressive disorder may become too disabled to walk or move.

I Am: Celine Dion appears to be more than just a chronicle of her rise to fame. Instead, it captures the world-famous singer at a defining moment of her career when she is still hungry for more.

I Am: Celine Dion premieres on Prime Video June 25. Scroll up to watch the trailer for I Am: Celine Dion.