Kelly Ripa And Mark Consuelos Recall Their Own “Mortifying” Experiences From The Airport On ‘Live’

Where to Stream:

Live with Kelly and Mark

Powered by Reelgood

Kelly Ripa and Mark Consuelos each had their own “mortifying” airport experiences to rehash on Live with Kelly and Mark this morning.

After Ripa joked that they “were on a plane for 15,000 hours yesterday, but it seemed much longer,” she and Consuelos recalled being in the Denver airport and being “late for [their] connecting flight.”

“So we had to get on one of those shuttle carts,” she revealed. “You know, they ring the bell and they make people move out of the way.”

Ripa highlighted how she was hiding her face in her hands “the entire time,” while Consuelos claimed that he was “proud” to be riding through the airport that way.

“I’m proud. Like, get out of the way,” he said. “Buddy, get off your phone. Get off your phone! Get off your phone, move!”

Ripa added, “Elderly women with walkers, and I am just… I said to Mark, ‘Feign like you have a leg injury instead of an arm injury.'”

She continued recapping her embarrassment, telling viewers, “For me, I’d rather miss the flight.”

“I’d rather miss the flight than do that because it’s so mortifying,” she added.

Although Consuelos teased that he “love[s] it” and even would “want to drive it,” he also had his own “mortifying” experience on this fateful flight. He explained that he “hurt [his] arm a couple months ago and [he] can’t lift anything,” and that he “tore a tendon.”

Kelly Ripa and Mark Consuelos on 'Live with Kelly and Mark'
Photo: ABC

“So this nice lady on the plane said, ‘Mark’ — well, not ‘Mark,’ she didn’t say ‘Mark,’ she called me ‘sir’ — ‘would you mind helping me with my bag?'” he remembered.

Ripa deadpanned, “And I said, ‘Hang on, I’ll get it.'”

Ripa recalled stepping over her husband to assist the woman in Consuelos’ place, as Consuelos said that both of the women were “Kelly-sized.”

“And this guy sitting down across the aisle looked at me and he goes, you’re an animal,” he joked. “He didn’t say it, but he was looking at me. And he said, you’re a monster. I said, dude, I just knocked over a lady in the buggy on the way over here. I have no problems.”

Ripa once again noted, “So embarrassing.”

She even teased later on that Consuelos “gave [her] the gift of embarrassment for Mother’s Day.”

Consuelos still couldn’t get enough of the cart. “I love those buggies,” he said. “I love it. One guy had a little bell on his. Ding! Ding! Ding!”

Ripa recalled the man “ringing a bell like on a bicycle,” adding, “Only we’re on this cart that’s traveling at 30 miles an hour.”

Live with Kelly and Mark airs on weekdays. Check out their website for your local listings.