Jenna Bush Hager Awkwardly Confesses She Calls Hoda Kotb “Dad” On ‘Today’: “She Just Reminds Me Of My Father”

Where to Stream:

Today with Hoda & Jenna

Powered by Reelgood

Today With Hoda & Jenna took the broadcast to New Orleans, where the co-hosts will be celebrating their fifth anniversary — and partying, evidently.

While Jenna Bush Hager dished on how she and Hoda Kotb spent their first night in New Orleans, she also made an odd confession: She sometimes calls Kotb “dad.”

Kotb urged her to explain to the audience why she gave her that strange nickname. “I call her dad because she’s my partner. Because she’s early to everything, always early,” Bush Hager explained, before awkwardly adding, “And she just reminds me of my father.”

Her father is, famously, former POTUS George W. Bush.

She continued, “I’m like, ‘Dad says we can’t drink too much, Talia,’ to our boss. I’m like, ‘Dad says put the vodka down,'” sparking laughter from Kotb. “But guess what? Dad wasn’t out the night we got here.”

Kotb then began to play along. “Dad goes wild here,” she said, before interjecting, “Why am I dad? I’m not embracing this.”

“OK, but you weren’t dad that night,” Bush Hager said. She then began to detail the wild night they had in New Orleans when they first arrived: “Hoda took a shot; we went into a dive bar, and they were yelling ‘Shots,’ and before I even knew it Hoda was in there pounding something.”

Kotb may remind her co-host of her father, but it’s Bush Hager who got the surprise of a lifetime when she noticed just how much she resembled her father during a hilarious Today broadcast.

Jenna Hoda
Photo: NBC

The Today hosts were trying out a viral TikTok filter that aged users to show them what they may look like in a couple of decades. But Bush Hager was shocked to see how the filter looked on her.

“Whoa, I look like my dad,” she exclaimed as she tried it. She then asked Kotb not to laugh at her as she called herself a “handsome woman.”

“I’m having a little bit of trauma,” she said. “We said we didn’t care what we look like but I do care. I’m a very manly older person and that was just, not expected. You look exactly the same and I look like a man.”

You know how the saying goes: Like father, like daughter… like daughter’s talk show co-host?

Today with Jenna and Hoda airs on weekdays at 10/9c on NBC.