Lizzo Says She’s Quitting Industry Due To Constant Ridicule: “I Didn’t Sign Up For This Sh*t”

Where to Stream:

Lizzo’s Watch Out For The Big Grrrls

Powered by Reelgood

Lizzo is fed up with all the criticism.

The four-time Grammy winner took to Instagram Friday evening to announce she’s quitting the industry due to constantly being ridiculed.

“I’m getting tired of putting up with being dragged by everyone in my life and on the internet,” she wrote. “All I want is to make music and make people happy and help the world be a little better than how I found it.”

She added: “But I’m starting to feel like the world doesn’t want me in it. I’m constantly up against lies being told about me for clout & views… being the butt of the joke every single time because of how I look… my character being picked apart by people who don’t know me and disrespecting my name.”

“I didn’t sign up for this sh*t,” she concluded. “I QUIT✌🏾”

Several celebrities commented on her post in support, including comedian Loni Love, Paris Hilton, and Latto.

Lizzo’s post comes amid two lawsuits that have been filed against her, one in August that alleged she pressured and weight-shamed her former backup dancers, and another from her former wardrobe manager that accused her of alleged sexual and racial harassment, disability discrimination, and creating a hostile work environment.

Some of her former backup dancers who are part of the suit competed on her Emmy Award-winning Prime Video series, Lizzo’s Watch Out For The Big Grrrls.

The artist, as well as her attorneys, have thus far denied all allegations made against her.

Just one day after the second lawsuit was filed, Lizzo tearfully accepted a humanitarian award at a Beverly Hills gala where she seemingly alluded to the lawsuits in her speech.

“Thank you so much for this. Because I needed this right now. God’s timing is on time,” Lizzo told the crowd.

She has made several public appearances since the lawsuits hit, including President Biden‘s 2024 campaign fundraiser at New York’s Radio City Music Hall just this past Thursday.

Lizzo also attended the Vanity Fair Oscar Party earlier this month and presented the best R&B song award to SZA at this year’s Grammy Awards in February.