‘The Bachelorette’ 2024: Jenn Tran Named Season 21 Lead Making History As First Asian American Bachelorette

Where to Stream:

The Bachelor

Powered by Reelgood

How do you solve a problem like Maria? You cast The Bachelor‘s Season 28 contestant Jenn Tran as The Bachelorette Season 28 lead.

During the three-hour live Bachelor finale on March 25, franchise host Jesse Palmer welcomed former Bachelorette Charity Lawson to the stage to announce that Tran would be following in her footsteps, making her the first Asian American Bachelorette in franchise history.

“That is an absolute insane thing to come out of your mouth,” Tran told Palmer. “It’s incredible and I feel so so grateful and so honored to be the first Asian American Bachelorette in this franchise. Growing up, I always wanted to see Asian representation on TV and I feel like it was really sparse. Any time Asians were in the media it was to fill supporting character roles, fulfill some sort of stereotype and I always felt boxed in by that. I was like, ‘I don’t see myself on screen, I don’t see myself as a main character. And now to be here today sitting in this position saying I am going to lead my own love story I am going to be the main character…I just can’t help but think of how many people I’m inspiring and how many lives I’m changing.”

THE BACHELORETTE JEN
Photo: ABC

For those who need a refresher, Joey Graziadei said goodbye to Tran in Jasper, Canada ahead of Hometown Week. Per Jenn’s official ABC bio, the 25-year-old physician assistant student from Miami, Florida “is bubbly and compassionate, and has dedicated her life to helping others.”

“She is currently studying to become a physician assistant, and while she is passionate about working in health care, she is also ready to prioritize finding love. Jenn has had multiple serious relationships but is still looking for a man who’s as reliable and thoughtful as she is,” the bio continues. “When she’s not studying, Jenn loves reading books like The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo, paddleboarding, and traveling whenever she has the chance.”

There’s still a lot we don’t know about Tran’s upcoming season of The Bachelorette, but per Palmer, it’s set to premiere on ABC in July 2024.

Curious what else went down during The Bachelor Season 28 finale and After The Final Rose special? Decider has a detailed episode recap coming your way, and the episode will be available to stream on Hulu starting Tuesday, March 26.