Lola Glaudini Accuses Johnny Depp Of Verbal Attack On ‘Blow’ Set: “He Goes, ‘Who The F*** Do You Think You Are?’”

Where to Stream:

Blow

Powered by Reelgood

Johnny Depp is once again facing some unflattering allegations, this time from one of his Blow co-stars.

Lola Glaudini appeared on an episode of the Powerful Truth Angels podcast, which aired on Jan. 30, and discussed a rather tense moment she claims to have experienced while shooting the film, which also featured the talents of Penélope Cruz, Ray Liotta, Pee-wee Herman and Emma Roberts.

She recalled Blow director Ted Demme guiding her to “burst out laughing” at a particular point in Depp’s monologue during her first day of shooting, per Deadline.

“And so he says his monologue, I hear the cue, and I go ‘haha,’ and I do a big laugh or whatever,” she recounted.

She said she was eventually approached by Depp, whom she had never met prior to her work on the film.

“Johnny Depp, when they say cut, walks over to me, comes up to me, sticks his finger in my face and he goes, ‘Who the fuck do you think you are?'” she claimed. “‘Who the fuck do you think you are? Shut the fuck up. I’m out here, and I’m trying to fucking say my lines and you’re fucking pulling focus.'”

She continued, “‘You fucking idiot. Who the fuck do you think — oh, now, oh now it’s not so funny? Now you can shut up? Now you can fucking shut the fuck up? Oh it’s not funny now? The quiet that you are right now, that’s how you fucking stay.’”

Glaudini, who said she had “never told this story publicly” prior to the podcast, noted that Blow had been her “first studio movie,” and she had only “done indies until then.”

“And I have the star who I have idolized, who I am so excited to work with, reamed me in my face,” she alleged, adding that she had to try not to cry in the moment.

She also alleged that the late Demme “did not come over and say anything” or take responsibility for the direction. She said she felt “like a pariah” after they wrapped, claiming that “no one wanted to talk to [her], because [she is] the bitch who [Depp] railed at.”

Glaudini said she phoned her father to tell him about the alleged incident, and he told her that she ultimately had “two choices”, which she recounted as: “either say fuck this, fuck you, and I’m not going to be spoken to like that and I’m gonna walk away, or you never let him see you sweat.”

Opting to stay, Glaudini claimed that Depp later saw her and issued her a “non-apology apology.”

“He’s like, ‘You know, so earlier I was really in my head and staying in my character, I’m doing this Boston accent, and it’s really fucking with me. So you know I’m just like a little tense and stuff,'” she said. “‘So I just wanted to make sure that we’re cool and everything?’

“I just looked at him, and I was like, ‘I don’t know what you’re talking about? Of course, what are you talking about? Totally cool.’ Because I was just like… my dad said, ‘Don’t let them see you sweat.’ And so that was that,” Glaudini said.

A representative for Depp released a statement to Deadline, claiming that others remember their experience differently.

“Johnny always prioritizes good working relationships with cast and crew and this recounting differs greatly from the recollection of other members on set at the time,” the statement reads.

Samuel Sarkar, the film’s sound technician, shared a statement with Variety in which he shared, “as a sound person, you’re constantly listening to what is going on on set, listening for noises, listening for chatter.”

“In fact, specifically, I would listen to Johnny’s audio to check for interference, both during rehearsals and during the take,” the statement continued. “I never heard anything like that — and that would have been a remarkable event.”

Watch Glaudini’s interview above.