Whoopi Goldberg Reveals To ‘The View’ That She Was Nearly 300 Pounds Before Taking Mounjaro To Lose Weight

Where to Stream:

The View

Powered by Reelgood

Whoopi Goldberg got candid on this morning’s episode of The View when she shared with her co-hosts that she took Mounjaro to lose weight.

Her remarks came during a discussion about Oprah Winfrey‘s new special, Shame, Blame and the Weight Loss Revolution, in which the TV legend unpacks the rising popularity and impact of obesity drugs.

Goldberg kicked off the chat by sharing her own experience with such medications.

“I will tell you, I weighed almost 300 pounds when I made Till,” she said, referring to the 2022 film she produced and starred in.

Shortly after the film debuted, Goldberg called out a writer who had incorrectly assumed she was wearing a “fat suit” in the movie, delivering her response on The View when she said, “I don’t really care how you felt about the movie, but you should know that was not a fat suit. That was me … And that was steroids.”

On this morning’s episode, Goldberg once again mentioned the effect the steroids — which she was prescribed after an illness — had on her weight.

“I had taken all those steroids, I was on all this stuff, and one of the things that’s helped me drop the weight is … Mounjaro. That’s what I use,” she said.

Whoopi Goldberg on The View
Photo: ABC

Sunny Hostin then shared her experience with weight loss drugs, sharing that she, too, has taken Mounjaro.

“During COVID, I gained 40 pounds. I was horrified,” she said, adding, “I love to cook, and I found out I love to eat. I was horrified by the fact that I would have to come out on air. I was. And so I also took Mounjaro.”

Hostin said that she got “nasty emails” after taking the drug, with people telling her, “‘You’re too skinny,'” and “‘You’re taking the drug away from diabetics.'”

Drugs like Ozempic and Mounjaro are certainly not without controversy; there was a widespread shortage of the drugs after they became known as miracle cures for weight loss, causing serious issues for those who rely on them for diabetes management.

Hostin stood by her Mounjaro use, telling the panel, “There is shame when you’ve gained weight. I had never experience that kind of shame before.”

“If someone has diabetes and they’re being treated for diabetes, it’s fine. When someone has some sort of cardiac disease, that’s fine. They’re not shamed for it,” she said. “But when someone is obese, they are shamed for it. I found that my cholesterol went up to 200 when I gained the extra weight, and I used Mounjaro, and my cholesterol is 140 now.”

She closed out her comments by proclaiming, “I feel better, I think I look better, and that’s what this is about for people.”

The View airs weekdays at 11/10c on ABC.