Sanya Richards-Ross Becomes Latest Housewife To Exit ‘RHOA’ Ahead Of Season 16

Where to Stream:

The Real Housewives of Atlanta

Powered by Reelgood

Real Housewives of Atlanta star Sanya Richards-Ross will reportedly not be returning for Season 16.

Andy Cohen announced the news on a recent broadcast of his SiriusXM show that aired on March 14, though Richards-Ross has not confirmed or commented on the shocking update.

Cohen casually dropped the news while interviewing Mariah Smith on Radio Andy when he asked, “How do you feel about Kandi [Burruss], Sanya and Marlo [Hampton] leaving the show?”

Richards-Ross, a former Olympic track and field champion, joined the show in Season 14. She regularly made appearances during Season 15, though it’s unclear what led her to depart from the show so soon.

Decider has reached out to Bravo for comment.

She is the third Housewife to leave the franchise amidst the show’s prolonged break ahead of Season 16. Burruss and Hampton both recently left the franchise, citing the newfound time they had to focus on other endeavors thanks to the break from the show.

Cast of 'The Real Housewives of Atlanta' Season 15
Photo: Bravo

“I’ve been going back and forth and I think because they gave us such a long break, I had a lot of time to do other things and I’ve got some big announcements to make coming soon, so yeah,” Burruss told ET after announcing her exit. “I mean, I love the girls, they’re my friends, I’m still gonna see them and hang out with them. And Bravo is my family, I love them as well, but you know.”

Hampton also expressed that the break offered her a “fresh start” after having appeared on the show since Season 6.

“My contract with Real Housewives of Atlanta ended when season 15 wrapped,” Hampton told People. “This break from RHOA is a fresh start, allowing me the space to participate in new creative entertainment projects focused on my future, and not reliving my past.”

Their departures from the show come amidst rumors that Bravo was considering recasting RHOA as they did for Real Housewives of New York, a decision that allegedly had the cast “on edge.”

“A major shakeup is coming to The Real Housewives of Atlanta. Before the women filmed their recent reunion, they were told that they should expect a big change with the franchise moving forward,” a source told Entertainment Tonight.