Robert Downey Jr. Wins 2024 Oscar For ‘Oppenheimer,’ Earning Applause From ‘Anatomy of a Fall’ Star Dog Messi 

Where to Stream:

Oppenheimer

Powered by Reelgood

When Robert Downey Jr. looked out into the crowd to see Hollywood’s brightest stars applauded his Best Supporting Actor win at the 96th Academy Awards, who do you think brought him the most joy?

His wife and producing partner Susan Downey? His fellow nominees Sterling K. Brown and Mark Ruffalo? Or perhaps the star dog Messi from Anatomy of a Fall?

After Downey Jr. delivered a heartfelt, yet humorous, acceptance speech, the camera panned to show his supportive colleagues in the crowd. After quick shots of Christopher Nolan and Martin Scorsese, the lens focused on the famed canine, who appeared to be clapping along with the rest of the crowd.

That begs the question: Who was making Messi clap? Or did the dog brush up on his social cues before making an appearance at the iconic award show?

We don’t have the answer, but we can confidently say that Messi is a confirmed RDJ fan.

Downey Jr., who won his first-ever Oscar award for portraying Lewis Strauss in Nolan’s latest blockbuster, began his speech by thanking his “terrible childhood.”

“I’d like to thank my terrible childhood and the Academy, in that order,” the Iron Man actor said. “I like to thank my veterinarian, I mean, my wife Susan Downey over there. She found me a snarling rescue pet and he loved me back to life. That’s why I’m here.”

messi_clapping_oscars

Downey Jr. continued, “Here’s my little secret, I needed this job more than it needed me. Chris knew it. And Emma [Thomas, producer] surrounded me with one of the greatest cast and crews of all time,” mentioning his costars Emily Blunt, Cillian Murphy, and Matt Damon.

The actor went on to give a shout-out to his publicist, stylist, and entertainment lawyer. For the latter, he said he has worked with him for 40 years, “half of which he spent trying to get me insured and bailing me out.”

Earlier in the night, host Jimmy Kimmel made an unflattering joke about Downey Jr.’s rowdy past in his opening speech. “This is the highest point of Robert Downey Jr.’s long and illustrious career. Well, one of the highest points,” the comedian said in reference to Downey’s past struggles with substance abuse.

Downey Jr. was previously nominated for Oscars for his roles in Chaplin and Tropic Thunder.