‘Love Is Blind’ Season 6: Sarah Ann and Jeramey’s Cringeworthy Abortion Convo Should’ve Been Edited Out

Where to Stream:

Love is Blind

Powered by Reelgood

Love Is Blind Season 6 contestants Sarah Ann and Jeramey have a cringeworthy chat about abortion in Episode 3, “Operation Get My Girl Back,” of the hit Netflix show.

The new season premiered Feb. 14, 2024 with the first six episodes and will continue to air new releases every Wednesday until the finale on March 6, 2024.

While on a pod date, Sarah Ann, a 30-year-old customer support manager, and Jeramey, a 32-year-old who works in intralogistics, began talking about politics.

Sarah Ann identifies as a conservative and tells Jeramey, “I’m a huge Patriot.”

She continues, “I’m more conservative for sure, but I will say that I have a lot of friends that are more left and I don’t judge them. I love them very much, but like, I love talking about [politics] with someone who has similar views.”

Now, Netflix could’ve done us all a favor by cutting the conversation right here, but instead Sarah Ann goes on to express her anti-abortion stance.

“I’m not a person that’s like, ‘Hell yeah, go get an abortion!’ If two people lay down and consensually have sex, I think you should take responsibility for your actions,” Sarah Ann says.

Love-Is-Blind-Sarah-Ann
Photo: Netflix

“However, I feel like if you are, you know, sexually abused or raped and you end up pregnant by someone, I think the option should definitely be there. But I don’t think it’s used as a form of birth control,” she concludes.

Well, Jeramey, the ball is in your court.

Jeramey lamely responds,”My opinion on that is me, being a man, I shouldn’t have an opinion on what a woman does with her body.”

Sarah Ann laughs, “Okay, I will take that all day long!”

Love-Is-Blind-Jeramy
Photo: Netflix

This isn’t the first time Love Is Blind has aired a conversation about abortion, as Season 3’s Nancy and Bartise clashed over the topic after Nancy expressed that she’d consider getting an abortion if medical testing revealed that her unborn child had a learning disability. Her statements on the show caused a lot of controversy, leading to a parent of a child with Down Syndrome writing Netflix and asking for an apology.

While reflecting on the discussion with Netflix’s Tudum, Nancy said, “That’s a problem in today’s society with our rights and our bodies: Who are you to say what to do with them and how to calculate the percentages of my body? If there’s anyone else out there thinking, ‘What are my options, what should I do?’ It needs to be an open topic of conversation. We need to be putting it on the table, and not just abortion. It’s about a woman and her body.”

At the time, show creator Chris Coelen defended the decision to leave the conversation in the show, telling Variety, “This was obviously an issue that was really important to both of them and I think they handled it in a way that was really respectful.”

At the time of Season 6 airing, it has been over a year since the U.S. Supreme Court overturned Roe v. Wade, which protected a person’s individual right to terminate a pregnancy, and American Progress cites that roughly 22 million women of reproductive age live in a state where abortion is unavailable and/or restricted. In many of these states, situations of sexual abuse, rape and life-threatening pregnancies are not exceptions to the law, emphasizing the importance of inclusive access to women’s reproduction health — regardless of circumstance.

It’s a shame that Netflix gave Sarah Ann a platform to spread her regressive beliefs, especially without the presence of a moderator, and it’s an even bigger shame that Jeramey thinks it’s acceptable to not have an opinion on the matter versus to actively defend women’s access to reproductive health.

What’s next? Is Vanessa Lachey going to go back to grilling women contestants about when they’re gonna start popping out babies?

Love Is Blind Seasons 1 through 6 are currently streaming on Netflix.