Christopher Eccleston Claims An “A-List Actress” Falsely Accused Him Of “Copping A Feel”: “I’ve Never Felt More Betrayed By A Fellow Actor”

Where to Stream:

True Detective

Powered by Reelgood

True Detective: Night Country star Christopher Eccleston recently claimed he was once falsely accused of “copping a feel” by an “A-list actress” while filming an intimate scene on set.

In a recent interview with The Independent, Eccleston explained, “I did a sex scene with an A-list actress – not Nicole Kidman, who was brilliant – and she implied, in front of the crew, that I was copping a feel. Because she didn’t like me.”

The former Doctor Who star added that he was “fortunate” that this event occurred before Harvey Weinstein‘s reckoning and the #MeToo movement hit Hollywood.

“I wasn’t put in the stocks for it,” he said. “But I’ve never felt more betrayed by a fellow actor than I did that day.”

Eccleston did not name which actress allegedly accused him of this. (For what it’s worth, he has filmed a sex scene with A-list actress Kate Winslet in Jude, but at the same time, we’re not saying that’s the A-lister he’s referencing.)

Christopher Eccleston
Photo: Michele K. Short/HBO

He continued, “I have to say to you that I would sooner have put my hands in a food blender than copped a feel of that person. It was an abuse of power, what she did.”

The actor added that he didn’t believe this would have happened if they had worked with an intimacy coordinator.

“I could have been accused of all manner of things… that’s about what passes between actors, with trust and the abuse of it,” he said.

Eccleston will be appearing opposite Jodie Foster in the new season of True Detective.

“I’d never have taken such a small part if it wasn’t for Jodie,” Eccleston said. “But all my scenes are with her, and she’s been a heroine of mine for many years.”

New episodes of True Detective air on Sundays on HBO and Max.