Kelly Osbourne Regrets The Viral Remarks She Made About Latinos On ‘The View’ 10 Years Ago: “Most Cringe Moment Of My Entire Life”

Where to Stream:

The View

Powered by Reelgood

A new TikTok trend has forced Kelly Osbourne to face the “most cringe moment” of her “entire life.”

In 2015, Osbourne guest-hosted on The View, where she and the other co-hosts — including Whoopi Goldberg and Rosie Perez — were discussing Donald Trump‘s position on immigration.

“If you kick every Latino out of this country,” Osbourne began, “then who is going to be cleaning your toilets, Donald Trump?”

The panel gasped at the comment, with Perez chiming in, “Oh, that’s not…” Meanwhile, Osbourne quickly realized her blunder and tried to backtrack, telling the group, “In the sense that… You know what I mean? … I didn’t mean it like that. Come on!”

At the time, the daughter of the Black Sabbath frontman held herself accountable for her “poor choice of words,” but noted, “I will not apologize for being racist as I am NOT.”

These days, however, the sound is going viral on TikTok. Like Osbourne did with Latinos, users are posting their own controversial takes based on stereotypes.

“If you kick every they/them out of this country, who is going to be making your drinks, Starbucks?” @eli_orwhatever posted, while @tylynnk said, “If you kick out every former mean girl from high school, then who’s going to be our nurses?”

Looking back, Osbourne described the viral flub as “the most cringe moment” she had ever experienced.

“Oh my God, I died,” she recalled to Rolling Stone. “It hurt a lot of people, and that to me by far makes it the worst thing I’ve ever done. I realized that I’m not great on live TV and that words are so powerful. And to be labeled as something you’re not is really difficult. But it happened. There’s nothing I can do.”

Nearly 10 years later, the former The Osbournes star has finally clarified what she actually meant to say.

“This whole country is built on immigrants, and if you stop people from coming into this country who do the jobs that make this country exist and thrive and flourish, who’s going to do all the jobs that you don’t want to do yourself?” she explained. “It came out so wrong.”

Osbourne added that she feels “very strongly that Latin American culture is the backbone of America,” pointing out that “Latin Americans are the hardest-working people you will ever meet.”

As for the TikTok trend, Osbourne said it “does put a smile on my face” to see people turn “something so ugly into something funny.”

“It goes to show that people never forget,” she said. “And even though I’m the butt of the joke, I’m still laughing. And some of them are very smart. But I’d be lying if I said I didn’t hate myself a little bit more each time I see it.”