Andy Cohen and Howie Mandel Finally Bury The Hatchet After ‘Vanderpump’ “Jackhole” Controversy: “So Much Hate For Just Allowing A Guy To Have A Platform”

Where to Stream:

Vanderpump Rules

Powered by Reelgood

Scandoval might have severed several relationships within the Vanderpump Rules cast, but it’s not going to fuel a feud between Howie Mandel and Andy Cohen.

Nine months after the America’s Got Talent judge was deemed a “jackhole” by the Bravo host, the two rehashed their spat on Thursday (Jan. 18) on Cohen’s Andy Cohen Live radio show, per Entertainment Tonight.

Last April, Mandel interviewed the infamous Tom Sandoval on his Howie Mandel Does Stuff podcast after news broke that Sandoval had cheated on his girlfriend of nine years, Ariana Madix, with their VPR co-star Rachel “Raquel” Leviss. Cohen had accused Mandel of “not doing his homework” and alleged that he didn’t know “what he was getting himself into,” proceeding to ridicule him as a “jackhole” on Watch What Happens Live.

On Thursday’s Andy Cohen Live show, Mandel said that he “started watching [VPR] after the fact,” and likened his interview with Sandoval to “having a deposition and then watching the courtroom.”

“[Sandoval] said he broke up, he said he told [Madix], and he told me a story about how she wanted to have kids,” he explained. “And he went, ‘Are you crazy? I broke up with you.'”

He continued, “The next episode is him and his buddy [Tom] Schwartz walking into a fertility thing, checking on his jizz, as he put it. I go, ‘Well that’s not what he told me. He told me that he broke up with her and it was crazy that she wanted to have kids.'”

Mandel claimed he got “so much hate for just allowing a guy to have a platform” for Sandoval just to ultimately “bury himself.”

“Don’t you respect me for that?” he asked Cohen. “Why am I a jackhole?”

Cohen conceded that Sandoval “being given an opportunity to just have an open mic” with Mandel “actually wound up working out well” for him “personally.”

“It kind of saved the grilling for me later at the reunion,” Cohen shared. “So … maybe I should give you the Mazel because we do a jackhole and a Mazel [on WWHL].”

Mandel admitted that his daughter and podcast co-host was “kicking him under the table” while recording the April interview, though he prevented her from “challeng[ing]” or “attack[ing]” Sandoval.

While this was their first time speaking since the incident, the two had reportedly already settled their dispute. According to Page Six, Mandel had appeared on an episode of The Viall Files podcast in May, where he said, “Andy Cohen said I’m a jackhole, [and] I think that’s positive.”

Additonally, Cohen revealed on his radio show in June that Mandel had sent him a DM to make amends, in which he told him that he’s “making amazing TV” and that he was “honored to be [his] jackhole,” per ET.

“I loved that and I DM’d him back and I said, ‘Howie, being in a feud with you’ — feud in quotes — ‘was my honor,’ with a bunch of hearts,” he said. I feel like Howie and I, we’re back.”

Vanderpump Rules returns on Tuesday, Jan. 30