Joy Behar Reveals She Declined A Role In ‘Ted Lasso,’ Argues “It Was Not The Hottest Show On TV”

Where to Stream:

The View

Powered by Reelgood

Not even the “hottest show on TV” can convince Joy Behar to take up a role. On Wednesday’s (Jan. 10) episode of the Behind the Table podcast, the longtime co-host of The View revealed that she declined the opportunity to star in Ted Lasso.

According to The View’s executive producer and Ted Lasso mega-fan Brian Teta, Behar was asked to star opposite Jason Sudeikis as his character Ted Lasso’s mother Dottie Lasso. However, he noted that Behar “quickly dismissed” the gig.

“We were at a baby shower … and you dropped this mid-conversation,” Teta recalled. “My jaw hit the floor. You were dismissive of it because it would require you to spend your hiatus in London.”

Behar admitted that she turned down the role because it was “too hot” in London at the time they were filming.

“There was a heat wave going on at that time, like, 100-degree weather, and I’d have to get on a plane and go in the middle of the heat? No,” she said. “Listen, I’m a writer, I write my own stuff, I don’t care about other people’s stuff. I don’t need to be in everything.”

She later added, “If they were doing it in the spring I would’ve done it maybe, or in the fall, but not in the middle of the heat wave.”

When Teta tried to convince Behar that Ted Lasso was the “hottest show on TV,” she offered an unpopular opinion.

“It was not the hottest show on TV,” she countered, before adding, “I was watching The Crown at that time.”

'Ted Lasso'
Photo: Everett Collection

In the end, the role went to actress Becky Ann Baker, who was recently nominated for an Emmy.

“Well, good for her. Bravo,” Behar said upon finding out about the Emmy nomination, to which Teta pointed out, “She did a great job with it but I couldn’t help but notice there were Joy Behar-esque aspects to the character … I think that would’ve worked.”

Still, Behar said she had “no regrets” about turning down the part.

Instead, you can catch her on TV when The View airs on weekdays at 11/10c on ABC.