Jamie Foxx Receives Standing Ovation During His First Public Appearance Since His Major Health Scare: “I Wouldn’t Wish What I Went Through On My Worst Enemy”

Where to Stream:

The Burial (2023)

Powered by Reelgood

Jamie Foxx addressed his recent health scare during a surprise appearance at the Vanguard Awards, where he made his first public appearance since his hospitalization in April.

The actor was presented with the Vanguard Award for The Burial by his co-star Jurnee Smollett, who said he was “a generous scene partner” and “a great cheerleader,” per Variety.

She called him a “true vanguard, a pioneer who has broken down barriers and inspired generations of artists like myself to be bold, audacious dreamers.”

The actor received a standing ovation as he took the stage and openly addressed the mysterious health scare that he was hospitalized for earlier this year. “You know, it��s crazy, I couldn’t do that six months ago — I couldn’t actually walk,” Foxx said, before adding with a laugh, “I’m not a clone, I’m not a clone. I know a lot of people who was saying I was cloned out there.”

He continued, “I wouldn’t wish what I went through on my worst enemy, because it’s tough.”

Jamie Foxx
Photo: Kristy Sparow/Getty Images for Privé Revaux

Foxx said the experience gave him a new perspective on life: “I have a new respect for life. I have a new respect for my art. I watched so many movies and listened to so many songs trying to have the time go by. Don’t give up on your art, man, don’t give up,” he said.

The Oscar-winning actor was hospitalized in April after suffering from an undisclosed medical scare. He received “quick action and great care,” according to a statement from his daughter, and was reportedly out of the hospital in just weeks.

After months of silence as he recovered from the medical emergency, Foxx shared an emotional video message to fans explaining why he hadn’t provided an update beforehand.

“I know a lot of people were waiting or wanting to hear updates but to be honest with you, I just didn’t want you to see me like that, man,” he said. “I want you to see me laughing, having a good time, partying, cracking a joke, doing a movie, television show. I didn’t want you to see me with tubes running out of me and trying to figure out if I was gonna make it through.”

He also assuaged fans’ fears about his state of health.

“As you can see, the eyes are working, the eyes are working just fine. I’m not paralyzed, but I went to hell and back, and my road to recovery had some potholes as well. But I’m coming back and I’m able to work,” Foxx added.