Did Gabrielle Union Lose ‘Scandal’ Role Because Kerry Washington Was “Prettier” Than Her?

Where to Stream:

Scandal

Powered by Reelgood

Did Gabrielle Union lose out on the role of Scandal‘s Olivia Pope because she wasn’t as “pretty” as Kerry Washington? Fans seem to think so after Netflix‘s Strong Black Lead Instagram account posted a video of Union opening up about a “big job” she was up for “years ago” but didn’t get because of her appearance.

According to Union, it was down to just “two” of them. However, she was told she didn’t get the part because the other actress was “prettier” than her.

“For someone who had low self-esteem, it just felt like there was no place for me, for my kind of Blackness,” she said. “It pretty much killed that confident pep in my step, and I was equating my looks to my ability to do the job.”

In the end, Union — who went on to star in BET’s Being Mary Jane from 2013 to 2019 — was glad she didn’t get the part.

“I recognize that if I had gotten that job and I was around people like that, my soul would be worn down. I only want to be in spaces where I’m wanted,” she said. “When someone shows you, by how they negotiate, what they think your real value is, that opening number, you have to take that as a sign.”

She continued, “Because, in their perfect world, you would accept that low number. And as you then have to negotiate your value, it reveals a lot about the experience that you’re about to embark on.”

While Union didn’t specifically name which audition she was talking about, fans in the comments section quickly speculated that she was referring to Scandal and Washington. After all, she did once open up about auditioning for the hit Shondaland series.

“Going in for Scandal, Shonda [Rhimes] empowered every Black woman who came through her door,” she said in a 2013 interview with Rolling Out. “Even if I don’t get the next job, or the next five jobs, I don’t want to be treated less than how Shonda treated me.”

Union added, “I was one of the last five or 10 to audition … when Kerry got it, I congratulated her. Now after each episode, I’m leading the charge, like Gladiators, stand up! I’m obsessed with the show.”

Decider has reached out to reps for Union and Shondaland for comment, but did not hear back by the time of publication.