Matthew Perry Says He Wants To Be Remembered For More Than ‘Friends’ In Resurfaced Clip: “I Don’t Want ‘Friends’ To Be The First Thing That’s Mentioned”

Where to Stream:

Friends

Powered by Reelgood

The world has been turned upside down following Matthew Perry‘s sudden death over the weekend. Tributes quoting his iconic lines from Friends have taken over the internet, while compilations of his funniest Chandler Bing moments are flooding social media. However, in an interview from last year, Perry said he wants to be remembered for far more than the character he played on the hit sitcom.

While speaking on Tom Power’s Q podcast in 2022, Perry — who had been open about his struggles with alcohol and drug abuse over the years — revealed how he hoped to be remembered when he passed on.

“The best thing about me, bar none, is if somebody comes up to me and says, ‘I can’t stop drinking. Can you help me?'” he says in the clip, which was shared to X, formerly known as Twitter, yesterday (Oct. 29). “I can say yes and follow up and do it. That’s the best thing.”

Perry adds in the clip, “I’ve said this for a long time. When I die, I don’t want Friends to be the first thing that’s mentioned. I want that to be the first thing that’s mentioned and I’m going to live the rest of my life proving that.”

While the actor is best known for his 10-season run on Friends, he later went on to create the Perry House in Malibu, which is a sober living facility for men. He also wrote a play called The End of Longing, which, according to him, is a “personal message to the world, an exaggerated form of me as a drunk.”

“I’ve had a lot of ups and downs in my life,” Perry is quoted saying in another viral post. “I’m still working through it personally, but the best thing about me is that if an alcoholic or drug addict comes up to me and says, ‘Will you help me?’ I will always say, ‘Yes, I know how to do that. I will do that for you, even if I can’t always do it for myself.’ So I do that, whenever I can. In groups, or one on one.”

In the same resurfaced interview, the Fools Rush In star, who was found dead in his hot tub at the age of 54 on Saturday (Oct. 28), reiterates his desire for Friends to be the last thing people remember about him.

“When I die, I know people will talk about Friends, Friends, Friends. And I’m glad of that, happy I’ve done some solid work as an actor, as well as given people multiple chances to make fun of my struggles on the World Wide Web,” he says. “But when I die, as far as my so-called accomplishments go, it would be nice if Friends were listed far behind the things I did to try to help other people. I know it wouldn’t happen, but it would be nice.”

If you or someone you know is struggling with substance abuse, call the SAMHSA National Helpline at 1-800-662-4357.