Tracy Morgan Says George Santos Thought He “Would Be Perfect For The Job” Of Speaker Of The House On ‘The Tonight Show’: “And I Believe Him, Cause He Invented Breakdancing!”

Where to Stream:

The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon

Powered by Reelgood

After controversial conservative candidate Mike Johnson was named the new Speaker of the House, none other than comedian Tracy Morgan has announced that he was in the running for the coveted role.

The 30 Rock alum sat down with host Jimmy Fallon on Thursday night’s (Oct. 26) episode of The Tonight Show, where their banter took a political turn.

“You told me backstage that you were almost Speaker of the House,” Fallon revealed.

Morgan enthusiastically replied, “Yeah, I could’ve been speaker! My game is good!”

He then joked, “I’m telling you, who could get the Democrats and the Republicans together better than old Tray-Bae?”

Fallon supported Morgan’s venture, telling him, “That’s what I’m talking about! We get Tracy Morgan in and they get everyone together!”

Morgan then clued Fallon and the audience into another “supporter” of his, a particular political figure who is vying (or lying) for him to get the job: Republican Congressman George Santos, who according to Morgan, said he “would be perfect” for Speaker.

“And I believe him, ’cause he invented breakdancing,” he quipped. “I remember, out there, doing the back spins and all that, George Santos!”

Fallon said he was unaware that Morgan “was so involved in politics,” which prompted Morgan to detail his “tight” relationship with former president Donald Trump, who, he reminded the audience, “just came under fire because he released some secret documents,” alluding to Trump’s ongoing classified documents case.

“One time [Trump] came over to the house, and he had six boxes, and it said ‘Top Secret’ on there,” Morgan told Fallon, joking, “I said ‘What’s in these boxes?’ He said, ‘Don’t worry about it.’ Dude ain’t never said nothing to me, man! That’s what I tell the District Attorney: ‘I don’t know nothing.'”

Morgan 2024?

The Tonight Show airs on weeknights. Check the website for local listings. Watch a clip of Morgan’s appearance above.