John Stamos Says He Doesn’t Remember Filming ‘My Big Fat Greek Wedding 2’ Amid The Height Of His Battle With Alcoholism

Where to Stream:

My Big Fat Greek Wedding Part 2

Powered by Reelgood

John Stamos says that his battle with alcoholism once caused him to forget his part in a beloved blockbuster.

Speaking with Howard Stern yesterday (Oct. 25) on The Howard Stern Show, the actor opened up about the events following his 2015 DUI, which he said made him “sick to [his] stomach.”

He recalled going home after being arrested and “drinking another bottle of wine by [him]self,” before ultimately realizing something.

“I was just with Rita Wilson and Nia [Vardalos] in Greece and I realized, I forgot that the next day [after the arrest] they said, ‘Oh, you got to go to Toronto, you’re in My Big Fat Greek Wedding 2,'” he told Stern. “I’m like, ‘What?’ I don’t remember being on that set.”

In the 2016 sequel to its 2002 predecessor, Stamos and Wilson portrayed the couple George and Anna, per Variety. In the film, Michael Constantine‘s Gus attempts to marry his granddaughter off to their son, whom he ultimately learns is just a little boy.

Stamos said that he was soon sent to rehab after completing his work on the film.

“As soon as I came back from Toronto, My Big Fat Greek Wedding, my sisters were there, and my agents, and everybody was like, ‘Okay! It’s time,'” he said, admitting that “it wasn’t even an intervention.”

“It was like, ‘We packed your bags, you’re going,'” he added. He claimed he wasn’t mad at his loved ones for forcing him to seek help, revealing that he attended a rehab facility in Utah for 30 days, which he said “was great.”

“I have not had a drink since eight years ago,” he said.

Since promoting his upcoming memoir If You Would Have Told Me, Stamos has come forth with many stories about his life, including details about his alcoholism and his DUI. He told The View that he was “driving like an idiot” the night he was arrested and described it as “the lowest” he had ever been in his life.

Stamos’ novel is out now. Watch a clip of his interview with Stern above.