Jenna Bush Hager Teaches Hoda Kotb How To Slide Into DMs On ‘Today’: “I Can’t Date That Way, But You Could”

Where to Stream:

Today with Hoda & Jenna

Powered by Reelgood

Jenna Bush Hager just put Hoda Kotb onto the art of sliding into someone’s DMs.

Country singer Kelsea Ballerini recently revealed she and her boyfriend, Outer Banks actor Chase Stokes, met after she sent him a direct message on Instagram. As Kotb and Bush Hager dissected the young couple’s messages on Today With Hoda & Jenna, Kotb complained, “Oh my god, it’s so complicated!”

Bush Hager suddenly got a mischievous look in her eyes as she asked Kotb, “Do you ever slide—?”

Kotb, as if she knew exactly where Bush Hager was taking the conversation, cut her off. “No, I don’t slide into people’s DMs. Do you?”

Bush Hager replied, “Who would I ever DM? I can’t date that way, but you could,” seemingly suggesting that Kotb is single. Kotb and her ex-husband, Joel Schiffman, divorced in 2022 after eight years together. The couple share two daughters.

“Oh I would never, I don’t think I would do it,” Kotb replied.

Bush Hager was optimistic, however. “Maybe that’s the way to meet somebody these days!” she replied.

“But I don’t look at my messages, so how do you do it?” Kotb asked before pulling out her cell phone. “I don’t think I have anything.” She and Bush Hager then combed through her unread messages to see if there were any eligible bachelors that Kotb missed.

Hoda Kotb & Jenna Bush Hager discuss Kelsea Ballerini and Chase Stoke's DMs
Photo: NBC/Instagram/Kelsea Ballerini

Bush Hager peeked at Kotb’s messages as they read out who recently messaged Kotb, giving us an inside glimpse at the Today Show host’s star-studded inbox. “You have 12 [unread messages]! Oh, Maria Shriver slid into her DMs,” Bush Hager said, referring to the journalist and former wife of California governor and actor Arnold Schwarzenegger.

“Coco Gauff, oh nice,” Kotb read aloud, referring to the 19-year-old U.S. Open champion. “[Al] Roker,… Jacob Soboroff!”

“Okay, but he’s married,” Bush Hager said about Soboroff, a fellow NBC correspondent.

“There’s just one I don’t recognize,” Kotb admitted as she surreptitiously put her phone away. Who could it be?! We may never know, but we do know one thing: we’d certainly watch more Kotb DM segments.

Today with Jenna and Hoda airs on weekdays at 10/9c on NBC.