Timothée Chalamet and Greta Gerwig Both Agreed He Should Have Starred in ‘Barbie’: “Why Aren’t You in This?”

Where to Stream:

Barbie (2023)

Powered by Reelgood

Timothée Chalamet revealed his regrets to Greta Gerwig about turning down a cameo opportunity in her latest blockbuster Barbie.

In an interview with Hollywood First Look, Gerwig once again expressed how sad she was filming the movie sans Chalamet and Saoirse Ronan, who both previously starred in Lady Bird and Little Women under her direction.

“I tried to get them both in it,” she shared. “I really did. They both couldn’t do it.”

However, she did recall that Chalamet “did come by the set and then said, ‘I should have been in this.’”

“And I was like, ‘I know! Why aren’t you in this?” Gerwig exclaimed.

She also noted that Ronan’s absence was due to a scheduling issue of her “producing” her own work, which she highlighted was “great” and “good on her.”

Gerwig previously told Cinema Blend that filming Barbie sans Chalamet and Ronan “felt like doing something without [her] children.”

“I mean, I’m not their mom, but I sort of feel like their mom,” she added.

It turns out that Ronan and Chalamet weren’t the only two who missed out on their moment in Barbieland. The film’s casting directors, Lucy Bevan and Allison Jones, told Vanity Fair that Bowen Yang, Dan Levy and Ben Platt were ken-sidered for different versions of Ken. However, due to COVID protocols that required the stars of the film to relocate to London for three months, the three actors couldn’t make it work, per Variety.

“They were, I’m not kidding, really bummed they couldn’t do it,” Jones noted.

Jonathan Groff was also up for Allan, but the role ultimately went to Michael Cera when he had to pass on the part.

“Dear, dear Jonathan Groff was like, ‘I can’t believe I’m typing this, but I can’t do Allan,’” Jones shared.

Barbie is now in theaters.