Donald and Stephen Glover Will Write ‘Lando,’ a Star Wars Series About Lando Calrissian for Disney+

Where to Stream:

Solo: A Star Wars Story

Powered by Reelgood

Donald Glover is officially coming back to the Star Wars franchise.

Variety reports the actor and his brother, Stephen Glover, signed on to write a Disney+ series about Lando Calrissian, the intergalactic con man Glover played in Solo: A Star Wars Story. The deal was reportedly reached prior to the WGA strike.

The series has long been in development since it was first announced at Disney’s Investor Day in December 2020. Haunted Mansion director Justin Simien was initially attached to the series, but development seems to have stalled in the years since.

The actor expressed in April that he would be interested in returning to the role.

“I would love to play Lando again. It’s a fun time, being him. It just has to be the right way to do it,” Glover told GQ, per Variety.

He added, “I’m not interested in doing anything that’s going to be a waste of my time or just a paycheck. I’d much rather spend time with people that I enjoy. It just has to be the right thing, and I think it could be. Lando is definitely somebody I like to hang out with.”

Donald Glover, Stephen Glover
Photo: Frazer Harrison/Getty Images

Above The Line first broke the news Thursday (July 27) of the Glovers’ Lando takeover. The outlet reported that Simien exited the series last summer to focus on directing Haunted Mansion, after which Lucasfilms approached the brothers.

When Simien gave The Hollywood Reporter an update on the series the same day, he told the publication, “I am attached, I think, but I don’t really know…. The last thing I was told was that they loved it but needed to put a pin in it until they could figure out everybody’s availability. I haven’t investigated further, but I’m not an idiot.”

He later added, “It seems like I develop things with these companies and they just never happen for reasons unknown.”

The Glover brothers have worked together on projects before. Stephen is credited as a writer and executive producer on a few of Donald’s biggest projects, including Atlanta, Swarm, and Guava Island.

Above the Line claims the brothers have not done any writing for the project since the writers strike began May 2.