‘That’s So Raven’ Star Raven Symoné Claims She Shares Psychic Abilities With Her Character: “I Believe in Psychics”

Where to Stream:

That's So Raven

Powered by Reelgood

Oh, snap! Raven-Symoné recently shared she may possess some of the supernatural abilities of her That’s So Raven character.

On Sunday’s (July 23) episode of The Best Podcast Ever with Raven and Miranda, the iHeartPodcast Raven-Symoné just launched alongside her wife and co-host Miranda Pearman-Maday, the two hosts sat down with fellow child actress Keke Palmer.

Raven-Symoné opened up about her psychic-like “moments” during the episode’s “Spin the Wheel” segment, specifically after the wheel landed on the word “psychic.”

“I believe in psychics, puns f*cking intended,” she shared, referring to the irony of this belief with respect to her iconic character.

“I do have moments where I really will just stare and I will see a scene that is happening to me or that is going to happen to me in another dimension and I’m like, ‘Yo, this is weird,'” she revealed.

She also added that “there will be a time when I’m walking and I’ll trip over nothing.”

That’s So Raven, which first premiered in 2003 on Disney Channel, followed Raven-Symoné’s Raven, a high schooler who discovers that she has psychic abilities. Her visions often served as a blessing and a curse, as she aimed to get her and her loved ones out of precarious predicaments. Whenever she had a vision, the camera would zoom in on Raven-Symoné, who to outsiders would appear to be seemingly staring into space.

Raven Symoné in 'That's So Raven'
Photo: Everett Collection

She credited “spirit guides” for the moments of déjà vu she said she has experienced since the age of seven, and noted that “the way we connect is through our trauma.”

“Meditation just allowed my spirit guides to help me, and even to this day that can happen,” she shared.

“I believe actually humans have the ability in their brain to tap into energy fields that allow for truth to connect when you know how to translate it correctly,” she continued.

However, she highlighted that fortune tellers are a hoax, or what Palmer deemed as “gags.”

“If you sit me down and somebody’s like, ‘Look into my crystal ball,’ I’m gonna be like, ‘Give me my money back,’” Raven-Symoné detailed. “But I do believe there is natural auras that hold the experiences of all of our people.”

Interestingly enough, Pearlman-Maday exhibited some psychic-like tendencies after first meeting Raven-Symoné in 2015, believing from that moment that the two were meant to be, per People.

“I just knew, and then in June of 2020, I was proven correct,” Pearlman-Maday told Raven-Symoné in an interview on Entertainment Tonight, referring to their marriage.

That’s So Raven inspired two TV spinoffs: Cory in the House (2007) and Raven’s Home (2017), the latter of which is currently airing on Disney Channel.

That’s So Raven and its spinoffs are available to stream on Disney+.