Lance Armstrong Threatens to Leave ‘Stars on Mars’ After Clash with Ariel Winter Over Trans Athletes

Where to Stream:

Stars on Mars

Powered by Reelgood

Things look like they’re coming to a head for the Stars on Mars contestants.

It seems the tensions in the hab have finally reached a breaking point after disgraced athlete Lance Armstrong spent much of the season getting into clashes with Modern Family actress Ariel Winter. A new teaser for an upcoming episode shows Armstrong volunteering to leave the show soon after he got into a heated debate with his fellow celebronauts over whether trans athletes should compete in sports.

“Ariel, let me make this really simple: I don’t need the drama,” he says in the teaser. “I busted my ass for nine days, I’m gonna bust my ass on the tenth day, and I’m going to auto-select myself to leave.”

His castmates appear shocked by his statement, including Winter.

But Real Housewives of Atlanta star Porsha Williams quickly shuts down the conversation.

“Nah, I don’t like that. What are you talking about?” Williams says. “That’s not even fair for the team for you to say, ‘Oh, I’m gonna opt out.'”

Lance Armstrong in 'Stars on Mars'
Photo: FOX

Rather than backing down, Armstrong tells Williams that everything is “gonna be fine” since the hab got four new contestants: actor Andy Richter, Bachelor alum Ashley Iaconetti, celebrity chef Cat Cora and former NBA player Paul Pierce.

“I’m tired of people giving up because it’s really making the experience not fun. I thought we were having fun because I thought everyone who was here now actually wanted to be here,” Williams replies. “We’re gonna finish today and we’ll handle tomorrow when tomorrow comes.”

But Armstrong doesn’t appear comforted by Williams’ words. “I’m not living in this hab another day with certain people,” he says, pointedly looking at Winter.

By the looks of the teaser clip, it appears that Winter and Armstrong got into yet another argument after Winter called him out for “ostracizing” trans athletes in last week’s episode by suggesting they should compete in their “own category.” And she wasn’t the only one to criticize Armstrong; fellow celebronauts Tinashe and Adam Rippon also blasted the famous cheater for his comments.

Tinashe pointed out Armstrong’s hypocrisy in weighing in on the ethics of trans athletes competing, considering he was famously stripped of his seven Tour de France wins after he admitted to using performance enhancing drugs throughout his career.

“I wasn’t really shocked to hear his opinions, but I definitely didn’t think that he should be the spokesperson for that,” she said on last week’s show.

Stars on Mars airs Mondays at 8/7c on Fox.