Emilia Clarke “Nearly Ran Over” Co-Star Samuel L. Jackson With a Car While Filming ‘Secret Invasion’

Where to Stream:

Secret Invasion

Powered by Reelgood

Marvel‘s newest series Secret Invasion has plenty of action onscreen, but it turns out there were some heart-pounding hijinks happening behind the scenes, too. The new show, which unites MCU vets like Samuel L. Jackson with newbies like Emilia Clarke, highlights Jackson’s Nick Fury in a lead role as he tries to save humanity from an impending Skrull invasion.

In a recent interview with Yahoo! Entertainment, Clarke and her on-screen father Ben Mendelsohn were asked to share their favorite moments filming the series with Jackson.

“Oh my goodness,” Clarke, who stars as G’iah, said. “Well, I nearly ran [Jackson] over. That was interesting.”

The Game of Thrones star gave a little more context to her alarming anecdote, telling Yahoo, “So, I was driving this car, just a little way, then I had to ‘ERRR,'” imitating the sound of the brakes. “And then he’s there.”

Clarke went on to explain that the car she had to drive was a “Lada,” which she described as a “very old Russian car.”

“And I got in and I was like, ‘Hey, what’s with the six sticks up in here?,'” referring to the shift knobs. “Which one am I using? Why do I have ten pedals?”

“I know how to drive, I know how to drive stick,” Clarke continued. “Anyway … We get up to it. The camera is right there. Sam is right there. And I pressed the wrong thing, I pressed the accelerator rather than the brake.”

Mendehlson, who plays Secret Invasion‘s Talos, chimed in, “There is nothing better than that,” while Clarke revealed Jackson’s reaction to the incident, saying, “He was very gentlemanly and lovely and nice.”

She added, “And then I cried a little bit and someone else drove [the car] for me.”

Emilia Clarke as G'iah in 'Secret Invasion'
Photo: Everett Collection

Mendehlson’s favorite moment with Jackson was thankfully not as terrifying.

“I sang ‘Poison Ivy’ with him off[-set], just while we were sitting around,” he revealed. “We both sang ‘Poison Ivy.’ Can’t get better than that.”

Despite the nerve-racking incident, Clarke has enjoyed her time on the series thus far, telling The Hollywood Reporter that her and Mendehlson’s plotline as Skrulls “has made for some really interesting stuff.”

“[Secret Invasion] is a grounded show,” Clarke told THR. “It’s very relatable, in that whilst we are Skrulls, the viewer is looking at our human forms more than anything else.”

Marvel’s Secret Invasion is streaming on Disney+.