Michaela Watkins Tells ‘The View’ She Hid From Barbara Walters Following Her ‘SNL’ Impression

Where to Stream:

The View

Powered by Reelgood

Saturday Night Live alum Michaela Watkins recalled hiding from Barbara Walters, whom she famously impersonated on the long-running sketch comedy series, during this morning’s episode of The View.

The actress appeared on the daytime talk show alongside her You Hurt My Feelings co-star Julia Louis-Dreyfus when she made the revelation to the panel, which consisted of Whoopi Goldberg, Joy Behar, Sara Haines, Alyssa Farah Griffin and Sunny Hostin.

After playing a clip from the skit in which Watkins impersonated the late journalist and former View co-host, Haines asked if she ever had the chance to meet Walters.

“I did see her in line for the bathroom at a stadium one time,” she said. “I mean, that’s a weird place to be like, ‘Hi, how are you?'”

Watkins continued, “I just sort of hid, because I don’t think people necessarily like you doing impressions. I don’t know how she’d feel about it, and so I just sort of like, ducked down into the back of the line.”

'The View'
Photo: ABC

However, Goldberg told their guest that her impression was one that Walters did enjoy, before Behar added, “She didn’t like the one that Gilda Radner did, where they called her ‘Baba Wawa,’ she didn’t like that because it was making fun of her speech defect. But, her daughter said, ‘Get over it, mom,’ and then she got over it.”

In the clip, Watkins (as Walters) asks the panel what they would name themselves if they were one of Snow White’s seven dwarves, to which Kenan Thompson (as Goldberg) replies, “Weirdy. Because I’ve gotten a little weirder over the years,” while Fred Armisen (as Behar) says, “I would be Saggy. I think you all know why. Who cares.”

When the camera came back to the real Hot Topics table, Behar quipped, “Got that right.”

The View airs on weekdays at 11/10c on ABC.