Stanley Tucci and Richard Madden Totally Had Friday Night Martini Parties on the ‘Citadel’ Set

Where to Stream:

Citadel

Powered by Reelgood

A lot of stressful stuff happens to Richard Madden and Stanley Tucci in the new Prime Video show Citadel. The show starts with Madden’s character, suave super spy Mason Kane, losing his memory after a train explosion and then years later, his unassuming alter ego Kyle Conroy has to pull off death-defying missions to protect his innocent wife and daughter. Not to be outdone, Tucci’s Bernard Orlick has the pressure of being Citadel’s last known active agent. It’s up to him to pinpoint weaknesses in their evil rival, Manticore, and to live on the run. So it makes total sense that Tucci and Madden would need some way to unwind after a long week on set. You know, like Friday martini parties in the Citadel make up trailer.

When Decider asked Richard Madden about shedding his trademark Scottish brogue for Mason and Kyle’s American accent, Stanley Tucci interrupted to both sing his co-star’s praises and spill the beans on their makeup trailer cocktail hour.

“His American accent is so good that when I met him on set, you know, he only spoke in an American accent. So even when we weren’t filming, he only spoke in an American accent, make-up trailer, wherever. And I started to think, ‘Oh, I thought he was Scottish, maybe I’m wrong, maybe he’s not Scottish,'” Tucci said. “And then came Friday night in the make-up trailer, and I said ‘Would you like a martini?’ and he said ‘Oh yeah, I would like..[Scottish accent].’ And I was like, ‘Oh, he is Scottish.'”

“Just on Friday,” Madden joked.

“Just on Friday nights and on weekends,” Tucci said.

Since Stanley Tucci is famous for his legendary cocktails and Italian feasts, we had to wonder if everyone on the Citadel set was lucky enough to enjoy the Oscar-nominated actor’s famous hospitality. Shockingly, Madden and Tucci’s Citadel co-star Priyanka Chopra Jonas revealed that she was “never invited” to the boys’ martini nights. But she offered up a good reason…

“[They] never invited me,” Chopra Jonas said. “No, [my character] Nadia and Bernard’s paths cross mostly on comms in this show. We had like a couple of scenes together. But Richard and I — actually we were so happy when we wrapped that we would, you know, even before I took my extensions off, I would be in the car. Because the hours were so long and I shot it during COVID.”

“So I didn’t have as much fun as I think Stanley and Richard had,” she said, before deadpanning, “This needs to be a conversation [with them].”

We hope that the conversation happens before Citadel Season 2 starts shooting so Chopra Jonas can get her martini party invite after all.