James Corden Says He Can’t Imagine Returning As A Late Night Host: “I’d Be Very, Very Surprised”

Where to Stream:

The Late Late Show With James Corden

Powered by Reelgood

James Corden‘s reign on late night television will soon be coming to an end. And while many other late night hosts have found themselves returning to the medium after taking a hiatus, Corden admits he would be “very, very surprised” if he ever did.

“I’ll always be gobsmacked and amazed that this was a part of my life,” the Late Late Show host told CBS Sunday News. “But my wife and I, we always knew this was an adventure and not a final destination.”

The Tony Award-winning performer and host appears ready to close this chapter of his life. He plans to return to London with his wife and two kids, where he hopes to “see what’s out there.”

“I can’t envisage a scenario where I would return as a late-night host,” he said. “I’d be very, very surprised if [I] did. I’d be gobsmacked.”

He explained, “There’s just so many other things that I’d like to try and see what I might be capable of.”

The CBS Sunday News segment looked back on Corden’s seven years on air, in which he consistently went viral for putting celebrities in unexpected and ridiculous positions. Whether it was Paul McCartney belting out his greatest hits in Carpool Karaoke, or forcing Kim Kardashian to either rate her sisters’ fashion or a scorpion, celebrities always seemed to be ready to share a different side of themselves on Corden’s show.

While the show’s success has been “inconceivable,” he says it’s time for his family to return to London.

Thursday (April 27) will mark Corden’s final evening hosting the Late Late Show, with Harry Styles and Will Ferrell set to join him on the final broadcast.

These last few episodes have served as a farewell to the show’s most viral late night segments with the help of guests like P. Diddy and Blackpink.

The Late Late Show finale airs April 27 at 10/9c on CBS.