Jamie Lee Curtis Gave Her Oscar They/Them Pronouns In Honor Of Her Trans Daughter: “Here They Are!”

Where to Stream:

Everything Everywhere All At Once

Powered by Reelgood

Oscar-winner Jamie Lee Curtis made a tearful appearance on the Today show following her recent victory. She won an Academy Award on Sunday (March 12) for best supporting actress for her performance as an IRS agent in the critically acclaimed Everything, Everywhere, All At Once.

Today show hosts Savannah Guthrie and Hoda Kotb welcomed the actress on the show, where she appeared remotely, wiping tears from her eyes. “Here they are!” she said, appearing with the Oscar statue right by her side.

“Have we named her?” Guthrie asked. 

Curtis responded, “In support of my daughter Ruby, I’m having them be a they/them. I’m going to just call them, them. They/them, and they are doing great, they’re settling in.

“In my life, I never saw it in a million years that I’d have this couple days, and I’m very moved by the whole thing,” she continued.

Ruby Guest came out to her parents, Curtis and comedy director Christopher Guest, in 2020. Curtis and her daughter opened up about the experience in an interview with People in 2021. Ruby described the experience of coming out to her parents as “intimidating,” but said that she “wasn’t worried.” She said, “They had been so accepting of me my entire life.”

“It’s speaking a new language,” Curtis said in the 2021 interview. “It’s learning new terminology and words. I am new at it. I am not someone who is pretending to know much about it. And I’m going to blow it, I’m going to make mistakes. I would like to try to avoid making big mistakes.”

Sunday’s victory was Curtis’s first-ever Oscar nomination and win in her decades-long career.

This win was just one of seven Academy Awards Everything, Everywhere, All At Once took home that night. 

It also received awards for Best Original Screenplay, Best Supporting Actor for Ke Huy Quan, and Best Actress for Michelle Yeoh, who became the second woman of color to ever win that category.