Jennifer Lopez Wouldn’t Let Melissa Villaseñor Do An Impression Of Her On ‘SNL’ For This Unbelievable Reason

Melissa Villaseñor has opened about her big Saturday Night Live fail.

While promoting her new book, the comedian told The A.V. Club that her Jennifer Lopez (now Affleck) impression was shut down by the singer herself. She said, “My J. Lo impression is very specific. It is kind of the J. Lo that’s very serious.”

Villaseñor continued, “When I met J. Lo, I think I did my impression for her, and she was like, ‘I don’t see it.’ I love J. Lo. I mean, truly a legend. I was telling her, ‘Oh, maybe I can imitate you in a sketch. You know, I could walk around your house and pretend I’m like J. Lo and be like, my favorite color’s blue.'”

Unfortunately, the comedian’s charm didn’t work in her favor as the “On My Way” singer stopped her, right there, and said, “Baby, my favorite color is green. Everyone knows that.” Embarrassing!

But Lopez is right, this should come at a surprise to none given her history with the color: J. Lo’s most iconic look is her green Versace dress, which not only has its own Wikipedia page, but was also re-worn during her first SNL appearance in 2001.

But no worries, Villaseñor harbors no ill feelings towards the Hustlers actor. Although the comedian didn’t get to show off her impression during Lopez’ hosting return in 2019, the two performed together in a skit depicting them as sellers for “100% metal” hoop earrings – which you can watch above.

Melissa Villaseñor’s new book Whoops…I’m Awesome is currently on sale.